Jump to content

2 posts in this topic

Posted

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jIb4olmMg0I[/media]

[quote] David Nalbandian was disqualified from the Aegon Championships final after injuring a line judge by kicking an advertising board into his shin.

Nalbandian was leading Marin Cilic 7-6 (7-3) 3-4 when he smashed a board in front of Andrew McDougall's seat, causing his leg to bleed.

Chair umpire Fergus Murphy awarded Cilic the match, while ATP supervisor Tom Barnes confirmed the decision.

"I am very sorry, sometimes you get frustrated on court," said Nalbandian.

"Sometimes I make a mistake I agree with. It's a tough moment to end a final like that but sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP playing so many tournaments.

"Today I've made a mistake. Sometimes I agree and I do but everyone makes mistakes. I don't feel it had to end like that - especially in a final.

"There are a lot of rules and sometimes they don't do anything. The rule book is very big and I can tell you the ATP do a lot to the players and nothing happens."

After edging the first set on a tie-break, Nalbandian's serve was broken in the opening game of the second.

He managed to level at 3-3 but immediately handed the advantage back by putting a forehand wide on the stretch.

The world number 39 continued his run before angrily booting the board, which broke apart and badly gashed McDougall's left leg. [/quote]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

/facepalm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.