Jump to content



Photo

What is the max throughput for wifi wireless?


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#16 mrmazlan

mrmazlan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-December 12

Posted 17 December 2012 - 09:12

My Wifi setting:

Wireless – General
Channel bandwidth: 40Mhz
Control Channel: 48
Authentication Method: WPA2
WPA Encryption: AES

Wireless – Professional
RTS Threshold: 2000
DTIM Interval: 1
Beacon Interval: 3
Enable TX Bursting: Enable
Wireless Multicast Forwarding: Enable
Enable WMM APSD: Enable
Tx Power adjustment: 120


#17 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 20 December 2012 - 06:41

OK YOU CAN STOP LOOKING AT ALL OTHER ROUTERS AT THIS POINT


If you look back at the picture with the Amped Wireless router that's an R1. I have the R2 dual band dual channel extreme coverage router. I get 300mbps through put. varies between 270 - 300, mostly 300. The best thing you can do is get the R2 and get yourself a Samsung Pro 840 SSD. Your downloads and uploads will be much better. That's all I have to say, take or leave it.
Check out deals on Amazon and Ebay.

http://www.ampedwire....html#downloads

#18 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 December 2012 - 18:31

MY MINION HAS SPOKEN!!!!

GET AMPED!!!!


They are also gonna release 802.11ac GB HARDCORER ROUTERS

#19 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:53

Yes, I am Remixedcat's minionion. :)

#20 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 20 December 2012 - 20:19

ALWAYS used a wired solution.

#21 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 20 December 2012 - 22:59

ALWAYS used a wired solution.

Yes cause wired is practical in all situations. :rolleyes:

#22 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 21 December 2012 - 13:44

Yes cause wired is practical in all situations. :rolleyes:


It is.

#23 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 21 December 2012 - 15:44

Not sure exactly what shotta is reporting there.. But not really matching up with the smallbuilders database.

snipped


I know this is a old post - but figured i'd drop this here from last year:

http://www.neowin.ne...t__p__594469651

Using Tomato now, I get 30MB/s (240Mbps) on my Linksys E4200 V1 with a Intel 6300 5Ghz 3 Stream connection (450Mbps).

I'd expect the new AC routers to be kicking even more ass than what SmallNetBuilder shows as well.

I'd be curious as to what those Amped routers get? I doubt any better than mine as they are more for range but still curious!

#24 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 21 December 2012 - 16:39

It is.

No it's not.

#25 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 21 December 2012 - 23:07

No it's not.

For example?

#26 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 21 December 2012 - 23:12

For example?


When you have a PC in your shed. Or you don't want CAT5 running all around your door frames and under carpets.

#27 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 22 December 2012 - 01:47

For example?


When you use a laptop on the sofa, then carry it around the house

When you have a smartphone

When you have a tablet

When you have a PC that someone stuck a crayon into the LAN port

When your house was burgled and all they took was your Ethernet Adapter

When the dog chewed through your network cable

#28 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:53

when you don't want TRIP HAZARDS!!!!

when you want HARDCORE COVERAGE!!!! outside on your **********in boat

#29 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 22 December 2012 - 03:05

As long as you don't really do internal network transfers (that really require speed) and your wireless speed can keep up with your internet connection - who cares?

I get around 100Mbps over 2.4Ghz WiFi-N and my internet is 60Mbps. Sounds fine with me.

#30 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 22 December 2012 - 04:29

As long as you don't really do internal network transfers (that really require speed) and your wireless speed can keep up with your internet connection - who cares?

I get around 100Mbps over 2.4Ghz WiFi-N and my internet is 60Mbps. Sounds fine with me.

You should get an amped wireless router R2



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!