Photo

To use adblockers or not to use adblockers?

ad blocker adblocker

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

Poll: Ad Blockers (48 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use an ad blocker (or IE9s TPLs)?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.

Is it ethical to use an ad blocker

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote

#1 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

Neowinian

Posted 10 July 2012 - 00:20

Hey!
I've started using some TPLs in IE10, and I really like reading Neowin without those annoying text ads :p I'd install ad blockers on all of my browsers, but (being a web developer myself) I don't entirely feel comfortable with the idea of taking away the major source of income for the sites that I use for free. I understand that my ad views represent a miniscule part of Neowin's (or any sites) overall income, but still, it's the whole 'what if everybody did that?' idea that's got me worried.

what do you guys think? do you use an adblocker, do you think it's ethical, and why?
Thanks ;)

#2 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

Tiger Trainer

• Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 10 July 2012 - 00:27

Adverts are not only intrusive but they pose a security risk and have a considerable impact upon browser performance. The best option is to install an ad-blocker and disable it for websites that you want to support.

#3 Shiranui

Shiranui

Iconoclast

• Tech Issues Solved: 3

Posted 10 July 2012 - 00:33

Do you click on them, ever? If not, then block them with a clear conscience. (yes I'm aware you can generate income without clicks too)

Once a month you can turn the ad-blocker off and go on a frenzied clicking spree.

#4 OP Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

Neowinian

Posted 10 July 2012 - 00:45