Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 explorer for Windows 8

windows 8 start menu

  • Please log in to reply
165 replies to this topic

#76 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 23 July 2012 - 00:40

XMac wrote-
Firstly, stop using netbooks. They're very underpowered hardware. The price you'd paid for the several netbooks you own (my guess is four, since you state you have 2 XP netbooks and several running Windows 7) could have gotten you a much better laptop, or better yet-a desktop.


The reason I use netbooks is because they are the only ones that have 32 bit Windows 7. But the big Windows 7 laptops have 64 bit. Which as you know you cannot run Windows 3.1 or 95 games or 16 bit software on 64 bit Windows, only on 32 bit.

And even though I always do a clean install of Windows 7 now from my Windows 7 DVD. If my laptop was a 64 bit,it may only have 64 bit drivers. And so that would be a problem because I want to install 32 bit Windows.

And may I add that my 32 bit Windows 8 RP is wonderful. All of the 16 bit software,Windows 3.1, Windows 95 and now Dos games works on Windows 8 RP. But they won't work on 64 bit Windows. Also I read 64 bit Windows is not very good.

But I do have one big desktop laptop that has Windows Vista 32 bit. But that is a second hand one made in 2009,before they stopped putting 32 bit on big laptops.




Javik wrote-
Absolutely agree, but they aren't going to do so, it should be clear by now that they have no interest in listening to their users. 3rd party options are going to be the only way of disabling it, sorry.




That's right. the only way now to get the start button and Windows 7 start menu is with third party software. Which I hope will work on the final version of Windows 8.



Notuptome2004 wrote-
Also Microsoft does listen to its users Many windows 8 features are here because of us users the only thing Microsoft dont want to hear is anything about the start menu because they made the choice long time ago to ditch it and come up with the start screen that does everything the start menu does but better . so They do listen also they read the forums they read the windows 8 blogs and emails you send them but the metro start screen is something that is staying.


I think that the Metro theme is not needed. And I find the Metro start menu does not meet mine and most peoples needs. It is difficult to create new start menu folders on the Metro start menu. And the Metro start menu is not on the desktop.

So I and most people install a third part start menu software that gives us both the start button and Windows 7 start menu. Andrea Borman.


#77 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 July 2012 - 00:44

The reason I use netbooks is because they are the only ones that have 32 bit Windows 7. But the big Windows 7 laptops have 64 bit. Which as you know you cannot run Windows 3.1 or 95 games or 16 bit software on 64 bit Windows, only on 32 bit.

And even though I always do a clean install of Windows 7 now from my Windows 7 DVD. If my laptop was a 64 bit,it may only have 64 bit drivers. And so that would be a problem because I want to install 32 bit Windows.


Andrea, a little tip for you.

If your Laptop or Desktop is 64bit, you can install a 32bit version of Windows and use 32bit drivers

The only time you need 64bit drivers, is when you install a 64bit version of windows.

I have a laptop with a 32bit and 64bit capable CPU (x86_64) I can choose to install either 32bit or 64bit versions of windows on it and both work fine.

If I install 32bit Windows 7, I install the 32bit drivers, if I install 64bit Windows 7, I install the 64bit drivers.


Buy any machine you like, and install whichever version of Windows 7 or 8 or whatever you like on it.

#78 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 23 July 2012 - 00:51

Andrea, a little tip for you.

If your Laptop or Desktop is 64bit, you can install a 32bit version of Windows and use 32bit drivers

The only time you need 64bit drivers, is when you install a 64bit version of windows.

I have a laptop with a 32bit and 64bit capable CPU (x86_64) I can choose to install either 32bit or 64bit versions of windows on it and both work fine.

If I install 32bit Windows 7, I install the 32bit drivers, if I install 64bit Windows 7, I install the 64bit drivers.


Buy any machine you like, and install whichever version of Windows 7 or 8 or whatever you like on it.


Yes you can install 32 bit Windows. Because when you buy a copy of Windows,you get a 32 bit DVD and a 64 bit DVD. But the problem would be the drivers.

And as you know you cannot run 16 bit software on 64 bit Windows and many 32 bit Windows 85,98,Windows 2000 and some Windows XP software,won't work on 64 bit.

So 32 bit is better. I have no complaints about my Windows XP,Windows Vista,Windows 7 and Windows 8. All of which are 32 bit. Andrea Borman.

#79 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:03

No the problem would not be the drivers.

Find any laptop that comes with 64bit Windows, then go to the manufactures website and find the drivers

it will ask you 32bit or 64bit and offer a driver for each.

#80 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:17

There's very little software that I could imagine someone actually needing that doesn't work on Windows X64. If you're still running outdated stuff, maybe that's a hint that you need to consider getting more recent versions? I've personally been running X64 Windows for nearly 5 years now, and in all that time the only thing I have that doesn't work is the first Trackmania game, and that's only because it uses an outdated version of Starforce DRM

#81 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:22

No the problem would not be the drivers.

Find any laptop that comes with 64bit Windows, then go to the manufactures website and find the drivers

it will ask you 32bit or 64bit and offer a driver for each.


Well what's good about my HP netbooks is that when you buy them.They have a program file called Sw Setup on C Drive. And that has all of the exe installer files for all of the netbook drivers,video card,wireless network etc.

And what I do is first copy that folder to a DVD using Windows back up. And I can use Windows back up in install my files from the DVD back onto my netbook. After I re-install Windows and most of the time I have to run the installers to install the drivers after a clean install.

And I have made a small 20GB partition on of my hard drive, where I have also copied that drivers folder to, and other program installer files. And as I only format the C Drive during my Windows install.The 20GB partition I created on D drive does not get touched.

But I find the manufactures website not very user friendly. And it's like looking for a needle in a haystack finding the right drivers on there. Andrea Borman.

#82 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:26

You seem to have a lot of needles and haystacks problems...

Regardless of how difficult you find it, the fact is it can be done easily.

#83 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:45

Just buy yourself a desktop computer with generic hardware. Getting drivers for most generic hardware is extremely easy.

#84 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 23 July 2012 - 08:28

<Don't Care Snip>


I'm only quoting this post because you wrote it. I've not read it, and I don't plan to.

If we employed your horribly negative attitude to every software developer, we wouldn't have awesome software. You failed to reply to my previous comment direct at you, but seriously, if you don't like this software, feel free to not use it. If you do, the person who spent the time on it,is allowing to use his work for free. It really is that simple.

All you've done in this thread is whinge and moan and try and stop people using this software because you personally don't like it. Get over yourself. Clearly, other people think this is better than the things you've suggested. They wouldn't say that if they didn't believe it.

As for your hardware or lack of hardware, surely it's better in another thread.

#85 KRazpopov

KRazpopov

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-April 10
  • Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Omnia 7

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:17

And I have made a small 20GB partition on of my hard drive, where I have also copied that drivers folder to, and other program installer files. And as I only format the C Drive during my Windows install.The 20GB partition I created on D drive does not get touched.

I'm sorry, but using a 20 GB partition for your OS these days is just ridiculous. You do know, that even the OS itself will probably take up at least 15 gigs of that space? Unless you're installing something like XP, then that partition isn't going to cut it.
Also, I don't understand why you find a need to use software from 17 or more years ago. It's outdated, and there's surely better substitutes by now. Seriously, start using modern software and modern hardware. Stop Sticking to stuff tro Windows 98 or earlier.

#86 DesGaiZu

DesGaiZu

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:55

Firstly just want to say thanks to the op for the patch, It's pretty much exactly what I want.

..secondly this entire thread is utterly bewildering, almost surreal.

#87 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 23 July 2012 - 10:31

I'm sorry, but using a 20 GB partition for your OS these days is just ridiculous. You do know, that even the OS itself will probably take up at least 15 gigs of that space? Unless you're installing something like XP, then that partition isn't going to cut it.
Also, I don't understand why you find a need to use software from 17 or more years ago. It's outdated, and there's surely better substitutes by now. Seriously, start using modern software and modern hardware. Stop Sticking to stuff tro Windows 98 or earlier.


No no, I have not installed my OS on the D drive 20 GB partition. I have just put some program files and installer files on there as back up,that's all. My OS is installed on the C drive which has 200GB space. Andrea Borman.

#88 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Hackintosh

Posted 23 July 2012 - 11:20

It seems someone deleted my post, I've no notification to this effect and would appreciate one if and why my post was deleted.

#89 +InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & OSX 10.9
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 23 July 2012 - 11:55

Windows 7 explorer.exe for Windows 8
Long story short, i made a wrapper to Windows 7 explorer.exe to run on Windows 8. You can try it now in order to have native Windows 7 desktop experience.

You need to have Windows 8 Release Preview 32-bit installed. Most likely won't work for other builds.


Just wanted to say this is really awesome, and works very well! hopefully the start of something great.

All the benefits of Windows 8, with the Windows 7 desktop interface (Y) perfect for my desktop PC if you ask me.

I hope you find the time / motivation to keep developing this :)

#90 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 July 2012 - 12:17

Hopefully OP will keep updating this thread, there is a new and improved version with x64 support and more fixes posted here

http://www.msfn.org/...-for-windows-8/


I just re-patched over the top of the old one successfully

Fixed the notifications customisation link :)


Only bug I have found so far (Not important really)

User Accounts > "Make Changes to my Account in PC settings" gives an explorer.exe error "Class not registered"