A tip for mounting your Corsair water cooler

Hey all,

I'm new to the self contained water cooling world and have recently purchased a Corsair H60 to keep my Ivy Bridge 3570K CPU moderately cool when overclocking. When I mounted the water cooler, I noticed a decently loud noise coming from the cooler and had contacted Corsair on the issue after trying to do some research of my own by looking at how others mounted theirs with a quick Google photos search.

Apparently after waiting a few days for a response I learned from Corsair that I mounted the radiator upside down (with hoses on top) so hopefully after learning this myself I can help others not make the same mistake. I quickly turned my radiator to the hoses down position and behold, no more noise!

449bc712_P1050543copy.jpeg

^INCORRECT!^

Photo0132.jpg

^CORRECT!^

Another part of the discussion is which direction the radiator fans should be facing.

I personally have mine mounted to pull air out of the case and out the back.

Some people will argue that by doing that, you aren't running air through the radiator hence getting less efficient cooling. I sort of agree with that if and only if you have fans at the top of the case that will pull air out of the case. If not, you'll be fighting thermodynamics and creating a pressure bubble inside the case. Overall, either method works if done correctly.

So your saying that fans on top of the case are bad? or radiators mounted on the top of the case? I'm confused.

No, fans on top of the case are good as long as they aren't blowing air into the case. Top and rear fans should exhaust air.

The only exception to that is if you want to blow air in from the rear (through the water-cooling radiator), and then you'd need top-mounted fans to pull the hot air out the top.