Jump to content



Photo

DD-WRT

is the project dead?

  • Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#76 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 January 2013 - 15:15

"Why would I swap them? Why would I run the gateway/router stairs when the mode is downstairs and more central in the hous"

You can not be that dense?? Really?? :blink:

Move the BOX that is v2 that can run your tomato firmware you so happy with to you NOC (kitchen).. And place the V1 that runs the dd-wrt that you despise :rolleyes: (but use anyway) where you currently have the AP.


#77 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 January 2013 - 15:26

usually when upgrading from the same releases, DD-WRT->DD-WRT, Tomato->Tomato(here you might need to differentiate between builds) you generally don't need to wipe.


I used to do that and choose not to wipe but after a few builds I was getting major crashes so wiped and flashed that build again and everything was fine

So from then on I just backup > flash&wipe > restore

It only takes a few seconds extra and easier to troubleshoot knowing its a clean flash

#78 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 02 January 2013 - 16:08

Just goto administration > backup and save the settings to a file, thats how I upgrade > wipe > restore and all my settings are exactly the same as they were before I wiped


Thanks for the tip. Still, unless I'm experiencing problems with a particular bug or need one of the new features I'm incline to just stick with my current setup which seems more-or-less rock solid to me.

#79 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 January 2013 - 18:59

"Why would I swap them? Why would I run the gateway/router stairs when the mode is downstairs and more central in the hous"

You can not be that dense?? Really?? :blink:

Move the BOX that is v2 that can run your tomato firmware you so happy with to you NOC (kitchen).. And place the V1 that runs the dd-wrt that you despise :rolleyes: (but use anyway) where you currently have the AP.


But as I said in my other reply, my v2 with tomato, is my main router,in the Kitchen, the V1 with DD-WRT. acts as a upstairs network switch and AP. As for using DD-WRT despite despising is, as I said before, I had to before when I had to bridge the upstairs computer room with the downstairs network wirelessly., before I laid the cable, which I need to redo anyway since it's an old cable that's in worse shape than I thought and only does 100MBit, though I don't really need more, but it's effectively the backbone so...

#80 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:13

Signs you know your router is too old - no more new firmware for it. :) Just looked at the new DD-WRT FTP link you supplied, my model isn't listed (WRT54GL), so will stick with what I have now:

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std
(SVN revision 14896)


It works fine for me and has no crashes or lockups which is what I am after. But I am a sucker for new goodies in firmware. (Just thought i'd peruse it to see what was new in there).

#81 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:16

Signs you know your router is too old - no more new firmware for it. :) Just looked at the new DD-WRT FTP link you supplied, my model isn't listed (WRT54GL), so will stick with what I have now:

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std
(SVN revision 14896)


It works fine for me and has no crashes or lockups which is what I am after. But I am a sucker for new goodies in firmware. (Just thought i'd peruse it to see what was new in there).


Dude, a WRT-54G? Time for a new router.

#82 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:23

Signs you know your router is too old - no more new firmware for it. :) Just looked at the new DD-WRT FTP link you supplied, my model isn't listed (WRT54GL), so will stick with what I have now:

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std
(SVN revision 14896)


It works fine for me and has no crashes or lockups which is what I am after. But I am a sucker for new goodies in firmware. (Just thought i'd peruse it to see what was new in there).


Following the recommended firmware links on this page, it looks like there is a newer build for your router
http://www.dd-wrt.co...RT54GL#Firmware


http://www.dd-wrt.co...pic.php?t=52043

#83 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:34

WRT54's are rock solid though, and if you don't need more than G speeds they are some of the most optimized routers on tomato there is outperforming many of the newer "faster" routers for a lot of things.

but yeah, it's old and "slow" for network speeds. but on the other hand, they're rock solid and basically the foundation of custom firmware.

#84 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:36

did we have to break the topic into 3 parts? "dd-wrt" part one, "is the project dead?" as a tag part 2, and finally "it hasn't been updated in a couple years." as the contents (part 3)?

couldn't you of just said dd-wrt is this project dead? it hasn't been updated in a couple years"......

but no it's not dead, look at the nightly change logs..

#85 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:42

WRT54's are rock solid though, and if you don't need more than G speeds they are some of the most optimized routers on tomato there is outperforming many of the newer "faster" routers for a lot of things.

but yeah, it's old and "slow" for network speeds. but on the other hand, they're rock solid and basically the foundation of custom firmware.


I'm not sure if you're a Cisco / Linksys fan boy, but you're starting to become annoying with your BS.

Please show me where / how the older WRT54 models out perform newer routers? No gigabit ports, slower Wi-Fi speeds and a much slower / older processing chip and less memory. Not to mention some of the v1 - v2 models use to overheat.
You acknowledge "it's old and slow" but what other ways can you show me how they "outperform" newer routers. - Please teach me.

The only bonus from these routers were the custom firmwares running from Linux. These routers are way past their time.

The design and colours were great, back then, but even that was flawed with their crappy stacking and overheating ability.

#86 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:49

Did I mention anything about network speed or anything.

I have however used both WRT54's and other devices, and a WRT54 with tomato is extremely efficient at handling QoS traffic management, remember not EVERYTHING is about cpu speeds, and as I Said, these custom firmwares pretty much started with the WRT54, and they have been optimized a lot.

personally I wouldn't use a WRT54 today, as they don't offer the speeds I need, but as I specifically mentioned in my post, if you don't need anything faster it's a rock solid device with an extremely efficient firmware that's tried and tested more than any other.

speaking of people getting annoying, your inability to read posts and picking fights and trolling is really annoying. Now what are you even doing in a DD-WRT thread since you don't even use DD-WRT or devices that can run it.

#87 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:55

speaking of people getting annoying, your inability to read posts and picking fights and trolling is really annoying. Now what are you even doing in a DD-WRT thread since you don't even use DD-WRT or devices that can run it.


We finally got there. First it was grammar, now it's the troll. Congrats - as mentioned previously.
I came in this thread to express my opinion, that's what Internet forums are for. To which you replied with a false statement and I corrected you to which you oblivious couldn't take, being proved wrong.

"WRT54 with tomato is extremely efficient at handling QoS traffic management"

Again, please show me an example of how the QoS is more "extremely efficient" than a newer router running DD-WRT.
After all, you said it "outperforms newer routers".

#88 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 January 2013 - 20:00

I'm sorry but you're the one who where complaining about me posting BS with nothing to back up your stuff.

you still haven't proven anything I said false.

#89 Davo

Davo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-September 06

Posted 02 January 2013 - 20:05

I have lame routers or else I'd try something new. I have the Verizon Actiontec standard FIOS router, a neutered WRT54G, and the only version of the Netgear WGR619 that doesn't support either Tomato or DD-WRT.

#90 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 02 January 2013 - 20:09

I have lame routers or else I'd try something new. I have the Verizon Actiontec standard FIOS router, a neutered WRT54G, and the only version of the Netgear WGR619 that doesn't support either Tomato or DD-WRT.


time to replace some hardware ;)