Photo

Which Linux distribution to choose for work and programming?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Mello741

Mello741

Neowinian

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:29

Hello. So, I decided to change my main OS (with Win 7 dual boot) to one of Linux distributions but I really don't know which one. My main goal is to have convenient desktop enviroment for working and programming (dual screen) but as lightweight as possible. I don't need any special effects, I just need simple and comfortable desktop enviroment. I have some experience with Ubuntu but not very much, I know basic things.

I have Asus N53SM laptop with these specifications:

15.6-inch glossy 720p display (1366x768 resolution)t

Intel Core i7-2670QM quad-core processor (2.2GHz, up to 3.1GHz Turbo Boost, 6MB cache, 45W TDP)

Nvidia GeForce GT 630M graphics card w/ 2GB memory

4GB DDR3-1333 RAM (max. supported)

500GB 7200RPM hard drive + Westen Digital 1TB 3.5" External HDD

Atheros AR9002WB-1NG

Integrated Bluetooth wireless

Integrated 720p webcam

Internal tray-load DVD burner (DS8A8SH)

6-cell li-ion battery (56Whr, 5200mAh)

#2 MidnightDevil

MidnightDevil

Resident Evil

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:31

Debian. Even though I see lot's of people using Ubuntu and have no issues with it.

#3 Haggis

Haggis

Neowinian Senior

• Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:33

I use Opensuse and i like it, but for lightweight i hear Arch Mentioned a lot

#4 OP Mello741

Mello741

Neowinian

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:45

And what about Linux Mint?

#5 bjoswald

bjoswald

Neowinian Senior

• Phone: HTC Aria

Posted 03 August 2012 - 10:53

I assume any of the major ones could be configured to be a development environment, but to answer your question, I read somewhere that Linus Torvalds himself said Fedora is ideal for development work. Perhaps you could try that?

#6 +Frank B.

Frank B.

Member N° 1,302

• Tech Issues Solved: 11