Jump to content



Photo

Want to add more RAM, don't understand what speed I need.

ram speed ddr3

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 05 August 2012 - 22:26

Ah, I must have missed that. 8gigs would be sufficent.


#17 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 00:30

^ Why don't you simply go to crucial.com as previously suggested, and run the RAM app, which will tell you everything in less than a minute ?

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/


Ah, well nobody really suggested anything called a "ram app", someone just said "crucial.com". I assumed it was some website that sold memory, and someone was just trying to help me find a good deal, so I didn't actually open the link. I didn't realise they had a system-scanning app to tell you what RAM you need, thank you for pointing that out, I'll give it a try!

#18 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 06 August 2012 - 00:32

^ Good luck ;)

#19 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:45

LOL:

Crucial System Scanner results for your Acer Aspire M3300 Desktop/PC.


I guess that you were right, that is where this mobo came from!

Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-8500, DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 8GB
Slots: 4
Each memory slot can hold DDR3 PC3-8500, DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.*
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.


Well its a damn good thing I ran this scan before going out and buying two 4GB sticks! Apparently I'll need four 2GB sticks.

#20 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:46

LOL:



I guess that you were right, that is where this mobo came from!



Well its a damn good thing I ran this scan before going out and buying two 4GB sticks! Apparently I'll need four 2GB sticks.

honestly that'll just make it all the cheaper :p

#21 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:53

^ Good luck ;)


Well thank you again for pointing out that site, if it weren't for you I might have wasted my money on some 4gb sticks. If there's any way I can +1 you, I'd like to do it.

So should I bother replacing all 4 slots with matched 2gb sticks, or will there not be much difference if I only get two more 2gb matched sticks (that aren't matched to my current pair of matched 2gb's)?