Jump to content



Photo

Want to add more RAM, don't understand what speed I need.

ram speed ddr3

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 05 August 2012 - 22:26

Ah, I must have missed that. 8gigs would be sufficent.


#17 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 00:30

^ Why don't you simply go to crucial.com as previously suggested, and run the RAM app, which will tell you everything in less than a minute ?

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/


Ah, well nobody really suggested anything called a "ram app", someone just said "crucial.com". I assumed it was some website that sold memory, and someone was just trying to help me find a good deal, so I didn't actually open the link. I didn't realise they had a system-scanning app to tell you what RAM you need, thank you for pointing that out, I'll give it a try!

#18 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 06 August 2012 - 00:32

^ Good luck ;)

#19 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:45

LOL:

Crucial System Scanner results for your Acer Aspire M3300 Desktop/PC.


I guess that you were right, that is where this mobo came from!

Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-8500, DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 8GB
Slots: 4
Each memory slot can hold DDR3 PC3-8500, DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.*
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.


Well its a damn good thing I ran this scan before going out and buying two 4GB sticks! Apparently I'll need four 2GB sticks.

#20 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:46

LOL:



I guess that you were right, that is where this mobo came from!



Well its a damn good thing I ran this scan before going out and buying two 4GB sticks! Apparently I'll need four 2GB sticks.

honestly that'll just make it all the cheaper :p

#21 OP moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:53

^ Good luck ;)


Well thank you again for pointing out that site, if it weren't for you I might have wasted my money on some 4gb sticks. If there's any way I can +1 you, I'd like to do it.

So should I bother replacing all 4 slots with matched 2gb sticks, or will there not be much difference if I only get two more 2gb matched sticks (that aren't matched to my current pair of matched 2gb's)?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!