Jump to content



Photo

PS3 gets native YouTube app


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 14 August 2012 - 14:17

Posted Image

Back in 2009, before video game consoles became the streaming video boxes they are today, it was exciting to have any leanback YouTube experience at all — even a sluggish web app that could only stream pitifully low-res video from within the PS3's aging browser. Three and a half years after that initial tease, though, Google is finally delivering the goods: a native YouTube app for PlayStation 3. It's a free download from the PlayStation Store, and while details are scarce for now, it should support HD video, suggest search results as you type them, access video subscriptions from your account, and let you use a connected smartphone as a remote control. You should be able to find it later today in North America, with other countries to follow. We're grateful, to be sure, but Sony's mystery PS3 video service can't come soon enough.


Source: http://www.theverge....ive-youtube-app


#2 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 14 August 2012 - 14:20

Looks better than the 360 one.

#3 Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 15 August 2012 - 14:59

Anyway to get it in the UK early?

#4 Packet1009

Packet1009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: Ontario

Posted 15 August 2012 - 15:03

waiting for it to show up in Canada too

#5 Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 15 August 2012 - 15:32

waiting for it to show up in Canada too


Yeah i was thinking if we got the URL to the installer we could get it early.

#6 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 15 August 2012 - 21:42

This app is great. Finally they allow us to watch 1080p vids. It loads up a little slow, and the controls need a little more fine tuning, but it looks great.

#7 Jimmy0

Jimmy0

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-May 06
  • Location: Hampshire, England

Posted 15 August 2012 - 21:49

I remember trying to view YouTube on my PS3 a while back, and it was a giant pain the arse, I couldn't pause/play or rewind/forward the video! So this app is a welcome addition. (Y)

And 'let you use a connected smartphone as a remote control' is pretty cool too!

#8 Boxster17

Boxster17

    Porsche Enthusiast

  • Joined: 30-October 04
  • Location: Halifax
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:00

Long overdue, though I'm not sure how much I'll use it these days. Anytime I use it I just use the built in one on my TV which has worked fine for my minimal needs but the smartphone thing has me somewhat intrigued now.

#9 compl3x

compl3x

    OK. compl3x again.

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:16

I remember trying to view YouTube on my PS3 a while back, and it was a giant pain the arse, I couldn't pause/play or rewind/forward the video! So this app is a welcome addition. (Y)

And 'let you use a connected smartphone as a remote control' is pretty cool too!


With the browser? That thing is god-awful. They should either upgrade it or ditch it entirely.

#10 count0nz

count0nz

    A Geek4Hire

  • Joined: 09-October 01
  • Location: Auckland, NZ
  • OS: Windows 7 64Bit

Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:30

btw if you want the youtube app in EU/NZ etc. just create a US account as a Sub account on your PS3 and download it from there.. I do that all the time and download Demo's from US Store all the time and Play in the USA Home sometimes.

Looking nice btw.

#11 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:31

You said it, compl3x! Spot on! :)

#12 Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:16

how do i make it play in H?

#13 Jimmy0

Jimmy0

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-May 06
  • Location: Hampshire, England

Posted 16 August 2012 - 08:36

With the browser? That thing is god-awful. They should either upgrade it or ditch it entirely.

I think it was the browser, yes. I believe I redirected me to their "big screen" version (or whatever it is called). But the thing was utter crap!

#14 Boxster17

Boxster17

    Porsche Enthusiast

  • Joined: 30-October 04
  • Location: Halifax
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:13

Just got around to to trying it out today and pairing with my iPod touch was super easy and makes searching a breeze now. Not sure I'll be using my TV's built in one anymore as typing out searches with a remote was brutal at times.