Jump to content



Photo

No Sound in RTM...

win8

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#31 skilithead

skilithead

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:54

Sound driver support is the only problem right now in Windows 8.

Luckily, Creative released official drivers for the X-Fi Titanium HD that work correctly. All the other cards from Creative seem to be in beta support.


The bug report I ran across was was started back in June on the RP , so maybe it will sloooowly get better . :cry:


#32 mls67

mls67

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: IL

Posted 31 October 2012 - 03:13

I have the xfi extreme gamer and the only way I can get sound to work is to put it in entertainment mode. Every time I boot, I have to put it back to that mode and set my speakers to 5.1. I hope they fix this, I really don't want to use on board sound :-(

#33 AngelGraves13

AngelGraves13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-September 07
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 31 October 2012 - 03:16

I have the xfi extreme gamer and the only way I can get sound to work is to put it in entertainment mode. Every time I boot, I have to put it back to that mode and set my speakers to 5.1. I hope they fix this, I really don't want to use on board sound :-(


Mine had a similar issue with the beta drivers. It would lose all sound at reboot. I'd have to install it again after every reboot to get sound.

They released official drivers on the 25th and it's working correctly now. Won't be long for the other cards.

#34 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 31 October 2012 - 04:21

Have you by any chance updated the bios since you acquired your laptop ? I see where there was one released ,2011-01-10 , Version:F.65 . May be worth a try .


Yea did that as well. Just seems odd that Microsoft has this kind of problem for a common on board audio. I am going to leave it on my laptop for now but if its not fixed soon I guess I will have to go back to 7. The thing that really gets me is the "Upgrade Assistant" said all of my hardware was compatible, only thing that was not compatible was MS Essentials...

#35 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 31 October 2012 - 04:52

Have you tried hooking your laptop up to a tv using HDMI to see if sound works that way or not? Also external speakers using headphone jack?
Not that those would actually solve the problem, but if they worked, could be a temp fix.

#36 skilithead

skilithead

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 12

Posted 31 October 2012 - 15:06

Yea did that as well. Just seems odd that Microsoft has this kind of problem for a common on board audio. I am going to leave it on my laptop for now but if its not fixed soon I guess I will have to go back to 7. The thing that really gets me is the "Upgrade Assistant" said all of my hardware was compatible, only thing that was not compatible was MS Essentials...


MS Essentials is built into Defender on 8 . 8 is after all a new OS ,so it takes awhile for all the different driver suppliers catch up . A lot of the devices still have to use Vista drivers in 7. :s

#37 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 03 November 2012 - 06:39

Have you tried hooking your laptop up to a tv using HDMI to see if sound works that way or not? Also external speakers using headphone jack?
Not that those would actually solve the problem, but if they worked, could be a temp fix.


My laptop does not have HDMI and I have tried external speakers and headphones with no luck.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!