Jump to content



Photo

How to Boot to the desktop in Windows 8 : A Solution

win8

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 August 2012 - 21:00

So I was really thinking hard about a solution that would would faster than the one posted before, I think I finally cracked it. I made a Youtube video showing you how well it works. Then Below the video are instructions on how to do it. It took me about 30 seconds to set it up on the test machine. So while the list of instructions looks long, it's not really. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vV_w8ejDOg&feature=youtu.be


1) Save the VB script somewhere on your computer ( I recommend documents)
2) Press Windows key + R type Notepad and press enter
3) In Notepad type out the path of the vb file. Example (c:\users\owner\documents\test.vbs
4) Click File / Save As
5) Drop down save as type and choose all files. Now choose a location for your file.
6) For the file name call it desktop (or whatever you want).bat
7) Now go to the home screen and search for schedule, you will find it under settings under "Schedule Tasks"
8) Left click "Task Scheduler library" on the left hand side"
9) On the Right side, right click and choose "New Scheduled Task"
10) For name call it whatever you want.
11) click on the Trigger tab then click "New"
12) drop down "Begin tasks" and select "at log on"
13) click ok
14) Click the actions tab
15) Click "new" and then click "Browse"
16) Locate your new Bat file and double click it
17 ) then click ok
18) Click the conditions tab
19) If you are on a laptop you may want to uncheck "Start only if the computer is on AC power" (if you are on a laptop)
20) Click Ok and then close the Task Scheduler
21) All that is left to do is go to the home screen and move the desktop icon to the top left corner.
Now reboot and see if it works.

Attached Files




#2 DemonicHawk

DemonicHawk

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-June 06
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 18 August 2012 - 21:17

Neat solution, I just tried it but it's kind of slow (so probably isn't significantly faster than you experienced in a VM). Would be faster to just click desktop after booting up.

#3 x-byte

x-byte

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 02

Posted 18 August 2012 - 21:18

Smart solution. Should be a bit faster running it native (like always :) )

#4 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 18 August 2012 - 21:26

Making desktop the top entry and hitting enter when you get to the Start Screen would probably still be faster than waiting for the startup tasks to execute.

Just sayin ;)

#5 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 August 2012 - 22:39

I wonder if it's possible to piggy back that file on the registry shell key, so it loads explorer then loads that file. Not having any luck doing it, but i'm not sure how to type it. I just know malware use to do it all the time.

#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 18 August 2012 - 23:01

I wonder if it's possible to piggy back that file on the registry shell key, so it loads explorer then loads that file. Not having any luck doing it, but i'm not sure how to type it. I just know malware use to do it all the time.


One, it's pointless as whatever way you do it, it'll be faster to just click the desktop tile or hit enter.

Second, explorer is the main shell. The desktop and metro are both sub shells under explorer and run in paralell.

#7 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 18 August 2012 - 23:13

thought I had read this somewhere: http://www.windows7h...p-in-windows-8/

Originality? Nope. Easily found via google search. (Everyone in this thread got warwagoned. Funny thing is, I don't even run windows 8)

I found it earlier today via http://www.dailyrotation.com, which lead to the above site. Hmm.

So, from the first link I posted, there are simpler ways. Sorry warwagon, but these things just don't seem like they are for you. It's okay. Relax, and put some ice on your feet...they must be tired from all of that run around stuff.....

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 18 August 2012 - 23:47

If you right click the bottom left corner to open the context menu, the last option is Desktop

Win+X Menu Editor allows you to add shortcuts to that context menu, so if anyone could be bothered, find out where those shortcuts are stored and copy the desktop one to the startup folder



Posted Image



Personally I don't mind it booting to Metro, shows me email and news and fun is only 1 click away

#9 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 19 August 2012 - 15:27

If you right click the bottom left corner to open the context menu, the last option is Desktop

Win+X Menu Editor allows you to add shortcuts to that context menu, so if anyone could be bothered, find out where those shortcuts are stored and copy the desktop one to the startup folder



Personally I don't mind it booting to Metro, shows me email and news and fun is only 1 click away

The Win+X desktop shortcut points to this %windir%\explorer.exe shell:::{3080F90D-D7AD-11D9-BD98-0000947B0257}

Attached File  Desktop.zip   378bytes   43 downloads

#10 Fred 69

Fred 69

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 05
  • Location: Wynnum West, Brisbane, Australia

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:04

Hey all,

Just thought I'd chime in; I hear everyone complaining about this all the time, even though it's no big deal as whatever program you're starting is likely going to be on the start screen anyway. . .but people want to start Windows 8 on the desktop rather than on the start screen.

I noticed since the CP (perhaps even DP) if you leave a Windows Explorer window open and change your settings to Restore previous folder windows at log-on you will start at the desktop (with your open Windows Explorer window) I haven't bothered trying but maybe this works for items in the automatic startup with interactive windows *shrug*

Posted Image
Posted Image

#11 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:10

I found that installing Classic Shell, sends me straight to the desktop! :)

#12 Fred 69

Fred 69

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 05
  • Location: Wynnum West, Brisbane, Australia

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:43

I guess I should've prefaced this does so without installing third party applications and/or butchering the intended experience :p

#13 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:45

Does this load straight to desktop even if you left no explorer windows open at startup? If so, brilliant! Much better than having to install a 3rd party addon.

#14 EmbraceNext

EmbraceNext

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 09

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:48

I found that installing Classic Shell, sends me straight to the desktop! :)


Where is the classic shell?

#15 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:49

Where is the classic shell?


http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/