Jump to content



Photo

How to Boot to the desktop in Windows 8 : A Solution

win8

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 EmbraceNext

EmbraceNext

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 09

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:53

Thank you!


#17 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:55

I guess I should've prefaced this does so without installing third party applications and/or butchering the intended experience :p


:D, granted, and i should have taken into consideration you were makin the statement regarding native Win8 functionality... and not having a 3rd party! Havent tried it on RTM, will have a poke around this evening when i get home n see if it works... Cheers all the same.. :)

#18 Fred 69

Fred 69

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 05
  • Location: Wynnum West, Brisbane, Australia

Posted 20 August 2012 - 13:10

Does this load straight to desktop even if you left no explorer windows open at startup? If so, brilliant! Much better than having to install a 3rd party addon.


I don't think so - I'll try right now and check.

#19 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 20 August 2012 - 13:12

[Threads merged]

#20 Fred 69

Fred 69

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 05
  • Location: Wynnum West, Brisbane, Australia

Posted 20 August 2012 - 13:34

I don't think so - I'll try right now and check.


Nope, needs an open window.

#21 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 20 August 2012 - 14:54

I guess you could maybe use a scheduled item on logoff to open an explorer window maybe?

#22 ls_dragons

ls_dragons

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 20 August 2012 - 19:18

Hey all,

Just thought I'd chime in; I hear everyone complaining about this all the time, even though it's no big deal as whatever program you're starting is likely going to be on the start screen anyway. . .but people want to start Windows 8 on the desktop rather than on the start screen.

I noticed since the CP (perhaps even DP) if you leave a Windows Explorer window open and change your settings to Restore previous folder windows at log-on you will start at the desktop (with your open Windows Explorer window) I haven't bothered trying but maybe this works for items in the automatic startup with interactive windows *shrug*

Posted Image
Posted Image


Tried this on my RTM installation of Pro -- does not work. Note -- I do not care where my system boots - just tried this for educational purposes.

#23 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 20 August 2012 - 23:51

I think I finally cracked it!




#24 Fred 69

Fred 69

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 05
  • Location: Wynnum West, Brisbane, Australia

Posted 21 August 2012 - 02:21

Tried this on my RTM installation of Pro -- does not work. Note -- I do not care where my system boots - just tried this for educational purposes.


You sure you left an explorer window open? I don't really mind where it opens either but it's a byproduct of me wanting my folder of currently-watching TV series open on boot.
Mine's also a clean install of RTM (en-GB) Pro. Literally installed it yesterday on the desktop.

#25 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 21 August 2012 - 02:34

I used the registry hack posted in another thread - worked quite well.

#26 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 21 August 2012 - 02:56

Use Start8

#27 ls_dragons

ls_dragons

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 01

Posted 21 August 2012 - 15:27

You sure you left an explorer window open? I don't really mind where it opens either but it's a byproduct of me wanting my folder of currently-watching TV series open on boot.
Mine's also a clean install of RTM (en-GB) Pro. Literally installed it yesterday on the desktop.


Yes - definitely left an Explorer Windows open -- rebooted several times and double checked the setting was "ticked" just to make sure. No worries here though -- I rarely reboot and like most have said here in this thread -- it is just not that hard to click the desktop tile.

#28 d4rk5ky

d4rk5ky

    Tech Head

  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Location: NB, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 22 August 2012 - 18:02

I use Vistart and love it, combined with the skip metro suite it makes the experience much better :)

#29 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 22 August 2012 - 18:14

I think I finally cracked it!


Dirty, but it works :)

#30 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 August 2012 - 18:32

Dirty, but it works :)


Dirty, that's the only way I roll!