Jump to content



Photo

First time PC builder, need feedback on build.

windows gaming final fantasy

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Jaybot

Jaybot

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-January 10

Posted 20 August 2012 - 15:58

Hey everyone, I am migrating over from OS X to Windows. I haven't had a Windows machine in over 6 years, so this is going to be an exciting, refreshing change for me. However, I have always bought PC's at BestBuy, or various outlets like that, but I am wanting to build my own PC for the first time. My main reasoning is because I want to be able to play Final Fantasy XIV at the maximum settings when it's re-released again later this year. I do some photography editing as well.

This is what I currently have put together on Newegg. I am open to suggestions/modifications/etc. Thank you for any input received!

Case: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811139009
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131821
Graphics Card: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130787
Power Supply: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371030
Processor: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819116501
Memory: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231428
HDD: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148337
Monitor: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824254052
Keyboard: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16823126043
Disc Drive: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827135247
Fan: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835103099

Any input is much appreciated. Again, this is my first time putting something together. I am open to recommendations and changes. I believe I have everything I need, but I might have forgotten something, so let me know!


#2 Blaze_Zewi

Blaze_Zewi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 10

Posted 20 August 2012 - 16:09

Everything looks good. All it needs is a 120GB SSD to put Windows on it. And you are good to go.

You might want to up your PSU to at least 650W.

#3 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 20 August 2012 - 16:11

Yep not buying an SSD boot drive for that system would be a crime against humanity!

#4 chezy666

chezy666

    Marijuana is bad, M'Kay.

  • Joined: 17-July 04
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 20 August 2012 - 16:12

Add an SSD for the OS and maybe a corsair PSU with 650W or greater capacity.

#5 OP Jaybot

Jaybot

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-January 10

Posted 20 August 2012 - 16:47

So replace this http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371030 with a better Corsair PSU?? Can anyone recommend one? PS, am I missing anything?

#6 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 20 August 2012 - 16:52

You might want to consider X78 and i7-3820 if your not overclocking as its cheaper then Z77 and i7-3770K.

Intel Core i7-3820
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819115229
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813128532
You do not need Quad Channel ram kit for this to work Dual Channel Kit will work fine.

A 800W PSU will give you room to go SLi with another GTX 670 if not 650W will be fine.

#7 jackkk1

jackkk1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Location: Earth
  • OS: Windows 8 x64

Posted 20 August 2012 - 17:29

Your motherboard supports 6Gb/s transfer rate of HDD, but you've chosen 3Gb/s HDD. Of couse it won't reach that kind of speed without RAID setup anyways, but HDDs with 6Gb/s support are newer which means they have a better performance than older models. But if you aren't low on budget, buy SSD for your system and games partition, SATA HDD leave for movies and other stuff.

#8 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 20 August 2012 - 17:36

Your motherboard supports 6Gb/s transfer rate of HDD, but you've chosen 3Gb/s HDD. Of couse it won't reach that kind of speed without RAID setup anyways, but HDDs with 6Gb/s support are newer which means they have a better performance than older models. But if you aren't low on budget, buy SSD for your system and games partition, SATA HDD leave for movies and other stuff.


That info is wrong actually. You won't see a bit of difference between a 3Gb/s and 6Gb/s HDD. Even in RAID 0, it won't max out SATA II. 6Gb/s for a mechanical HDD is a marketing gimmick and means nothing in terms of performance at all.

#9 jackkk1

jackkk1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Location: Earth
  • OS: Windows 8 x64

Posted 20 August 2012 - 18:28

That info is wrong actually. You won't see a bit of difference between a 3Gb/s and 6Gb/s HDD. Even in RAID 0, it won't max out SATA II. 6Gb/s for a mechanical HDD is a marketing gimmick and means nothing in terms of performance at all.


HDD who's advertised as 6Gb/s are newer models, they have more cache, higher burst rate etc. take for example this model: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148840 Each new HDD model which comes usually are a bit better then previous, this is known. These new models almost have achieved old WD Velociraptor performance levels, that's quite impressing.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!