Jump to content



Photo

OS X 10.8.1 released

os x mountain lion 10.8.1 update mac os x mac mountain lion 10.8.1 august issue fix

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#16 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 23 August 2012 - 20:37

Nice. Just installed OS X 10.8.2 12C31A (with FB integration)


#17 mattmatik

mattmatik

    formerly soLoredd

  • Joined: 25-November 03
  • Location: California

Posted 23 August 2012 - 20:40

I think the battery fix comes with .2, correct? If so, I'll hold off for now.

#18 SMELTN

SMELTN

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Alabama
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, 2012 Macbook Pro, CR-48 Chromebook from Google
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 23 August 2012 - 20:46

whats the battery fix?

Any word on the wifi speed fix?

#19 John.

John.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-December 05
  • Location: England

Posted 23 August 2012 - 21:02

Nice. Just installed OS X 10.8.2 12C31A (with FB integration)


And iMessage Phone number merging! I was wondering why the file sizes were massively different between .1 & .2

#20 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 23 August 2012 - 21:06

I see nothing major with this release. I do however hope this fixes my wireless speeds. I purchased my first Macbook Pro this past Friday night and my download speeds are definitely bad on it, compared to my windows laptops/ipad/iphones/and desktop PC


Now that you have mentioned it, I too am having some issues with my wireless speeds. My macbook hasn't moved locations, but the signal seems weaker as well. Chopped it up as being a location issue but wonder if it is also related to an OS bug... hmmm...

And iMessage Phone number merging! I was wondering why the file sizes were massively different between .1 & .2


Wait, so now iMessages going to your phone number will also appear in Messages on Mac? Awesome. Is that something they are bringing to iOS as well for my iPad?

Nice. Just installed OS X 10.8.2 12C31A (with FB integration)


Did they fix the mess that occurs if you try to merge contacts? I remember the reviews saying it created a mess in their contacts. In the iOS 6 beta, the contacts go into their own category "Facebook Contacts" which would be my preference on Mac as well.

#21 Gabotrilius

Gabotrilius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-July 11
  • Location: Talca, Chile
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus, 16 GB, Space Gray

Posted 23 August 2012 - 21:32

Any fix to the iMessage sync mess between iOS and the Mac? It has been notably messed up and annoying the last couple of days, after a short time (8 or 10 days) where it works almost perfectly between the two.

#22 CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Yosemite

Posted 24 August 2012 - 10:46

Any fix to the iMessage sync mess between iOS and the Mac? It has been notably messed up and annoying the last couple of days, after a short time (8 or 10 days) where it works almost perfectly between the two.


Not at currently, but in 10.8.2 it will be :)

#23 Gabotrilius

Gabotrilius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-July 11
  • Location: Talca, Chile
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus, 16 GB, Space Gray

Posted 24 August 2012 - 14:17

Not at currently, but in 10.8.2 it will be :)

Are you talking about the Apple ID + Phone number integration?

#24 SuperKid

SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1, OS X 10.10, iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 24 August 2012 - 15:02

This seems to have fixed the screen flicker issue I had on the login screen as well for me.

#25 CPressland

CPressland

    www.absolute.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • Location: England
  • OS: OS X Yosemite

Posted 24 August 2012 - 15:02

Are you talking about the Apple ID + Phone number integration?


Yes

#26 The Guvnor

The Guvnor

    Corl!! Stand Back!!

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: India
  • OS: OS X 10.10 on Late 2013 27' iMac
  • Phone: iPhone 5 16GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad Mini 16GB WiFi

Posted 26 August 2012 - 09:53

10.8.1 works well on my hack :)

#27 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 26 August 2012 - 15:01

This seems to have fixed the screen flicker issue I had on the login screen as well for me.

Same here.

#28 SuperKid

SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1, OS X 10.10, iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 08 September 2012 - 20:14

Same here.


Back again for me.. so strange sometimes its there and sometimes its not. As if the graphic driver is not loaded fully at the login screen sometimes, hope Apple fixes it, it is quite annoying.

#29 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 09 September 2012 - 17:35

It happened frequently with the GM build, haven't seen it after updating to v10.8.1.

My 2010 with "high-end" video card does struggle more with graphical effects than it did under OS X Lion. Personally I think it's ludicrous Aqua was coded in a way it requires so much processing power.

#30 SuperKid

SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1, OS X 10.10, iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 10 September 2012 - 17:42

It happened frequently with the GM build, haven't seen it after updating to v10.8.1.

My 2010 with "high-end" video card does struggle more with graphical effects than it did under OS X Lion. Personally I think it's ludicrous Aqua was coded in a way it requires so much processing power.


Do you have the auto brightness turned on your Mac? I think thats the culprit to this issue... when my screen brightness change slightly I noticed a quick flicker on my screen when using my iMac (not the login screen). Although the login screen when turning on will flicker very badly for a while (which isn't much of an issue i spend what like 3 seconds on the login screen)