7 posts in this topic

Posted

Fixed this already, but just a FYI as Google doesn't have this listed:

This appears in the Metro Control Panel under Users after I tried adding an Exchange account to the Mail app, and acknowledged the following security-related dialog without thinking.

With that setting enabled, your PC will lock itself after dimming the screen or after waking it from sleep - your Power Options settings have no effect here. Having your PC prompt you for your password after waking up or idling isn't particularly helpful if you're on a single user desktop at home.

Disabling it is simple but not particularly straight forward at first: go to the desktop Control Panel, User Accounts, and click "Reset Security Policies" on the left. That should do the trick.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That's a security policy set in place because you've connected to an Exchange account that requires that policy be in place in order to use it. That's not something to fix...that's intended behavior.

Unless I'm not understanding something that you've said.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Is that policy set server-side?

In addition the policy remains even if you remove the Exchange accounts in question from the Mail app, or uninstall the Mail/Calendar/People/Messenger apps.

My point was, this policy seems a bit unnecessary for a non-portable single user desktop that rests at home, especially since the Mail app is the first non-web client to ask about this policy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Policy should be set server side. Try move the secedit database on the local machine(c:\windows\security\database - This is the Group Policy database), then do gpupdate /force /boot in cmd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Yes, that policy is set server side. The same thing happens with all of my phones when I connect them to my work e-mail via Exchange. It's a way to prevent your work e-mails (and other items) from being read/used by anyone who walks up and tries to use the machine. It's fairly standard practice.

The policy will remain in effect after removal until you tell it to disable the setting. That's a trivial matter to take care of usually. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Yes, but does the account work in Windows mail once you disable it?

[edit]

Huh! It does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Interesting... so it does continue to work after disabling the security policy.

Perhaps it'll bug you later to enforce it, else it stops syncing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.