Jump to content



Photo

What to do with 192MB Ram...

server

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:26

I have the following VPS:

192MB/224MB RAM
10GB DISK SPACE
300GB BANDWIDTH
1 IP ADDRESS


What kinds of things can I do with this OTHER THAN A WEB SERVER (I have a much much larger VPS for that).

I am thinking about doing the following:
  • Web Proxy for my 9yr old Step Daughter - However, she RARELY uses her computer so, not really a big priority.
  • PBX - But can't find one that runs on such a low end system.
  • DNS only server - (for my other VPS to use that IP for DNS Fallback)
What I can't do is run an IRC or BitTorrent system due to bandwidth and their AUP. :)


#2 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:28

Puppy Linux-- Simple and easy...or Mephis Linux -- they have a low memory version that uses flux box ....or DSL linux

#3 OP +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 29 August 2012 - 04:53

I guess I should add, since this is a VPS, I don't have OS install options other than what they provide, which is a GREAT list - I am using Centos 5 at the moment but can change to any flavor just about. :)

#4 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 29 August 2012 - 05:02

Why not just put up a virtual box-- then use one of the linux I stated above....

#5 OP +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 29 August 2012 - 06:05

I have played with Puppy Linux, DSL and the like. Not really looking for a Desktop OS I can install. (Can do that with eyeOS and have done that many many times).

I just finished testing some server monitoring tools like Zabbix and Nagios, but overkill for just monitoring uptime on my current VPS (Can do that anyway with uptimerobot which I use).

So, fresh out of ideas.

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:28

I just got myself a low end vps as well 128/256, 15GB hdd, 500GB bandwidth, 1 ipv4 and lots of ipv6 if wanted. $15 a year - which is a no brainer to have. This one is currently located in san jose, ca -- now they are adding a new location in NY so I might have to get one there as well.

As to use, first thing I setup on mine running ubuntu 11.04 server currently is setup openvpn so I can use it as exit point if need be. Never now when you might need to tunnel some traffic. And its possible my home connection might be down.

You never know when you need shell access to test something - which is what I normally just ssh into a vm running on my home network. But it nice to have one in another part of the country to test response times with, etc.

I have no plans for mine other than a shell I can use and vpn endpoint. Yeah its running bind so I can use it as dns resolver if need be, I can use it for anything I need whenever I need it. Its a shell I can use , this is more than enough for me.

I have no other designs for its use currently - though I did think about maybe running something like seti@home or something on it ;) But running such things is prob frowned upon. You could always use it as a mail server, I do quite a bit of testing of smtp and dns - so I always need a shell I can bounce off of and run tests, etc.

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:31

FreeNAS ?

#8 togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:38

shoutcast server or a game server

#9 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:51

porn downloader

#10 Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:06

I hate to say it, but it's pretty pointless.

You could always sell it, or give it to a charity shop - thats what I'd do atleast

#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:12

What part do you guys not understand about VPS (virtual private server) --- its a VIRTUAL machine on a host somewhere in the cloud.

Freenas? Sell it to a charity shop, how you going to sell a VPS?

As to a gameserver - depending on the game, but its prob a bit underpowered for many.

#12 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:23

What part do you guys not understand about VPS (virtual private server) --- its a VIRTUAL machine on a host somewhere in the cloud.

Freenas? Sell it to a charity shop, how you going to sell a VPS?

As to a gameserver - depending on the game, but its prob a bit underpowered for many.


:laugh: missed the VPS bit

#13 togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:26

What part do you guys not understand about VPS (virtual private server) --- its a VIRTUAL machine on a host somewhere in the cloud.

Freenas? Sell it to a charity shop, how you going to sell a VPS?

As to a gameserver - depending on the game, but its prob a bit underpowered for many.


UT server would be fine

dns back up server is a waste..... thats what google dns is for x

#14 OP +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 29 August 2012 - 14:12

I just got myself a low end vps as well 128/256, 15GB hdd, 500GB bandwidth, 1 ipv4 and lots of ipv6 if wanted. $15 a year - which is a no brainer to have. This one is currently located in san jose, ca -- now they are adding a new location in NY so I might have to get one there as well.

As to use, first thing I setup on mine running ubuntu 11.04 server currently is setup openvpn so I can use it as exit point if need be. Never now when you might need to tunnel some traffic. And its possible my home connection might be down.

You never know when you need shell access to test something - which is what I normally just ssh into a vm running on my home network. But it nice to have one in another part of the country to test response times with, etc.

I have no plans for mine other than a shell I can use and vpn endpoint. Yeah its running bind so I can use it as dns resolver if need be, I can use it for anything I need whenever I need it. Its a shell I can use , this is more than enough for me.

I have no other designs for its use currently - though I did think about maybe running something like seti@home or something on it ;) But running such things is prob frowned upon. You could always use it as a mail server, I do quite a bit of testing of smtp and dns - so I always need a shell I can bounce off of and run tests, etc.


I was thinking about turning it into an Exchange type of server (with Fetchmail, dovecot etc), but not sure if I want to do that just yet. I literally have about 25 inboxes that I manage (for my sites and business). I have done this before on my own personal box at home and while it was fun to do, just never really saw much of a point back then.

They do offer a VPN type of tunneling, have tried that when I had a larger VPS with them, but never did get it to work right. Maybe I will try again, I know there have been times when I have been out and wished I could tunnel into my house securely.

As far as a music server - 300MB of Bandwidth will be soaked pretty darn fast if I start streaming so, nix that idea. :)

#15 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 29 August 2012 - 14:37

Raspberry pi does have such specifications, I do a lot with it...