Jump to content



Photo

Seriously considering making the switch.


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

Poll: What Mac Should I buy... (112 member(s) have cast votes)

What Mac Should I Buy?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#16 OP +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 05 September 2012 - 22:54

Will Hakintosh run on your current "AMD Dual Core, 6GB DDR2 Ram and an 8600GT" system? Idk what you mean by "light video editing". Light video editing could be done on a computer 10 years ago and will probably work just fine on your current computer.

I'm such an Apple fanboy and hate to say this, but have you tried Sony Vegas at all on your current Windows machine? Its a pretty awesome video editing program. I'd say it is as good as iMovie.

Of course, better hardware will also yield a better experience. If you want to get good performance for cheaper than Apple hardware go with Hakintosh. You will have a few issues here-and-there and need to avoid updates until you do a little research to make sure that the updates won't break anything (if you research your hardware I don't think they will).

If you really want a Mac (it really sounds like that is what you want), then the question is do you need something portable? Having a portable has its advantages, and you can always add on a nice 27" thunderbolt display where you can attach all kinds of storage goodness.

If it were me, I'd probably want the Retina MacBook Pro and just get it with 8GB of ram, an SSD, and buy a nice external thunderbolt hard drive for mass storage and probably an external optical drive. I have a 2009 MacBook Pro and did what you were thinking: SSD as main drive, larger HDD where my optical drive use to be. Its OK. I have had issues with the HDD and it might be related to the adapter that came with the kit or it might just be that the HDD is going bad. Haven't really looked into it much yet.

Hmmm...I'm not sure my post was helpful at all. Anyway, good luck!


No it wont run on this system which is why I said build one...

and by light video editing I mean things like cutting together a lot of video etc with minimal effect adding or doing fancy stuff with it, i have tried video editing on this system but it took me 4 hours to render a 15 minute video at 720p with Sony Vegas and yeah it was slow as hell and I didn't like vegas.

My concern with a hackintosh is well, it's a hackintosh so **** will go wrong and as much as I enjoy tinkering around with stuff I don't wanna spend really hours fixing it after an update because something broke.

The reason I decided against the Retina is because, well... The amount apple charges for SSDs is damn unread. I could probably install it myself, voiding the warranty and pay to have them fix it and it will still be cheaper. Also the Retina display is a non factor because it will be permanently closed, in a stand hooked up to an external monitor if I do buy one.

If you really want to do video editing, there are lots of amazing editors available for Windows like Premier pro, Edius, Sony Vegas pro, Powerdirector ( for basic editing ). I have hackintosh setup, i use FCP on my hackintosh machine ( because i work as a part time video editor and have to deal with FCP projects ), but i dont see much difference in FCP and other editors. So i recommend you to stay with windows if video editing is the reason behind switch. Plus your hardware is good for video editing, it can handle it without upgrade. :)


My hardware isn't good for video editing. a Athlon x2 4000 dual core, 6gb of 800Mhz of DDR 2 ram, and I can't even render a video longer than an hour without it taking 12 so yeah. Also I tried Final cut pro on the Mac Mini when I had it, and I used Premier and Vegas on Windows and honestly, Final Cut Pro was better IMO.


#17 +OOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOO

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-September 04

Posted 05 September 2012 - 22:55

Why exactly do you need a Mac in the first place to do video editing?

Also, you can build an insane PC for the price of either of those Macs.


Maybe he wants to use a Mac. The PC argument is invalid in every respect when someone has decided they want a Mac. It's not just about the s**t inside the box you know :)

#18 simrat

simrat

    pooonjabi!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64, Arch Linux (Gnome)
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (stock)

Posted 05 September 2012 - 22:59

My hardware isn't good for video editing. a Athlon x2 4000 dual core, 6gb of 800Mhz of DDR 2 ram, and I can't even render a video longer than an hour without it taking 12 so yeah. Also I tried Final cut pro on the Mac Mini when I had it, and I used Premier and Vegas on Windows and honestly, Final Cut Pro was better IMO.


Well of course it will take time to render. Rendering will be faster in new machines. Be it Mac or Windows based PC. About the FCP part, i disagree, I use premier pro + after effects for most of my work, and i see no difference. Both have Community support, wide variety of plugins and presets and templates. FCP was better in old time when there was no serious competitor. Now its different story. I have even seen studios who entirely work on "Edius".

#19 OP +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:01

Why exactly do you need a Mac in the first place to do video editing?

Also, you can build an insane PC for the price of either of those Macs.


Don't really want a PC anymore, I didn't come here to ask what was better or PC or a Mac I came here to help me make a Choice between what Mac Model to get.

Why exactly do you need to tell everyone who want to have a mac otherwise?


Back on topic: The iMac is insanely great for media editing. That screen + industrial design is fantastic if your studio is opened for your clients.


I do like the look of the screen, It's just I want a mass storage drive with the system that is internal so that is going to be a pain.

I have the Retina Macbook Pro ... with 16gb Ram. I don't know where you get the information about the current Macbook Pro's only taking 8gb. My Macbook Pro retina has a blisteringly fast SSD, 16GB Ram etc. I do very high intensity audio and graphics work on it beautifully. On the retina screen and into my Thunderbolt display (27 inch) :)


The screen on those is nice but the lack of being able to add my own RAM and SSD is annoying.

Maybe he wants to use a Mac. The PC argument is invalid in every respect when someone has decided they want a Mac. It's not just about the s**t inside the box you know :)


True Facts yo.


Well of course it will take time to render. Rendering will be faster in new machines. Be it Mac or Windows based PC. About the FCP part, i disagree, I use premier pro + after effects for most of my work, and i see no difference. Both have Community support, wide variety of plugins and presets and templates. FCP was better in old time when there was no serious competitor. Now its different story. I have even seen studios who entirely work on "Edius".


I dunno, I just liked Final Cut better. *Shrug.

#20 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:05

I have the Retina Macbook Pro ... with 16gb Ram. I don't know where you get the information about the current Macbook Pro's only taking 8gb. My Macbook Pro retina has a blisteringly fast SSD, 16GB Ram etc. I do very high intensity audio and graphics work on it beautifully. On the retina screen and into my Thunderbolt display (27 inch) :)


Non-retina, on the tech page it says they can be configured up to 8. I assume the retina has a newer motherboard.

Also, based on what you've said, the 15'' Pro is probably the way to go. SSD swap is easy, getting a case to replace the optical drive for another hard drive is easy, GPU is decent compared to the 13'', especially if you don't mind running Boot Camp.

FWIW, I have a Macbook Pro, and I married into an iMac (which I'm using at the moment!). Coming from a BYO PC background, I think iMacs are insanely overpriced. But nice looking.

#21 simrat

simrat

    pooonjabi!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64, Arch Linux (Gnome)
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (stock)

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:05

I dunno, I just liked Final Cut better. *Shrug.


Well if you have made your mind, and dont want to setup hackintosh, i suggest get an iMac, its beautiful plus pleasure to work with.

#22 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:14

Well hmm... The last gen of MacBook Pro were easier to upgrade (I upgraded mine w/o any problems) but I think you will be limited to 8GB of ram.

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP619

The current gen iMacs will support 16GB of ram though. Sounds like that is what you want. I think that there are issues with replacing the SSD in an iMac where the fans go full blast because of a missing temperature sensor pin or something like that.

#23 +OOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOO

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-September 04

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:21

Non-retina, on the tech page it says they can be configured up to 8. I assume the retina has a newer motherboard.

Also, based on what you've said, the 15'' Pro is probably the way to go. SSD swap is easy, getting a case to replace the optical drive for another hard drive is easy, GPU is decent compared to the 13'', especially if you don't mind running Boot Camp.

FWIW, I have a Macbook Pro, and I married into an iMac (which I'm using at the moment!). Coming from a BYO PC background, I think iMacs are insanely overpriced. But nice looking.


Coming from a BYO PC background, I don't think Mac's are overpriced. I think they're perfectly priced.


A friend of mine has an old Austin Mini ... it has been modded to destroy a Ferrari off the line.

But I'd much rather have the Ferrari ;) Sometimes, the speed at which something runs isn't the only factor. A cheap PC instead of a Mac is the equivalent of buying a Vauxhall Corsa instead of a BMW M3. I'd rather work in comfort, on the best screens, the best trackpads, the best keyboards, the best build quality etc, and still smokin' fast.

But to each their own.

#24 OP +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:26

Non-retina, on the tech page it says they can be configured up to 8. I assume the retina has a newer motherboard.

Also, based on what you've said, the 15'' Pro is probably the way to go. SSD swap is easy, getting a case to replace the optical drive for another hard drive is easy, GPU is decent compared to the 13'', especially if you don't mind running Boot Camp.

FWIW, I have a Macbook Pro, and I married into an iMac (which I'm using at the moment!). Coming from a BYO PC background, I think iMacs are insanely overpriced. But nice looking.


I just read online that the new Ivy Bridge MacBook Pro non retina can take 16GB of RAM and now I am confused because I'm hearing that it can only take 8 or it can take 16 ><.

Well hmm... The last gen of MacBook Pro were easier to upgrade (I upgraded mine w/o any problems) but I think you will be limited to 8GB of ram.

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP619

The current gen iMacs will support 16GB of ram though. Sounds like that is what you want. I think that there are issues with replacing the SSD in an iMac where the fans go full blast because of a missing temperature sensor pin or something like that.


So if I do add an SSD to the iMac the fans will be going full whack X_x. Those fans are small so they wont be quiet either X-x.

#25 aviator189

aviator189

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-June 12

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:30

you can do video editing with windows easily. I'm running windows 7 on my lenovo y430 pentium dual-core laptop and both sony vegas pro and windows movie maker work flawlessly and smoothly.

this laptop cost me just $399 btw.

#26 OP +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:32

you can do video editing with windows easily. I'm running windows 7 on my lenovo y430 pentium dual-core laptop and both sony vegas pro and windows movie maker work flawlessly and smoothly.

this laptop cost me just $399 btw.

Like I said, with my Machine it is just way to damn slow, like REALLY slow. And after using OS X I've grown to like it a lot so yeah.

Also according to Crucial http://www.crucial.c...id-2012&Cat=RAM you can add 16 GB of ram to the Non retina model.

#27 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:35

Well if you're sold on Final Cut and OS X, I would say get the iMac.

#28 SMELTN

SMELTN

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Alabama
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, 2012 Macbook Pro, CR-48 Chromebook from Google
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:39

Well let me tell you first hand my situation. Always liked the Mac's but never owned one. Have owned an iPhone since the first 2g. Own an iPad and an AppleTV.. Last year wanted to try out the mac sooo bad. Build myself a Hackintosh. It works great.. Snow Leopard only, but works great.. Only problem, it just isnt the real thing.. No matter how much it "felt like I was using a Mac" it just wasn't and you know it.

So wife decides to go back to College to get her degree and I used that as an excuse to buy me her a real mac.. SO we went 2 weeks ago the the Apple Store ( 1 hour 20 min drive from here ) and buy her a 2012 Macbook Pro. I kept my Windows desktop and put the macbook on the side of the desk.. Over the past 2 weeks I have watched and laughed as it has slowly taken over the entire desk and 24" Monitor. We use the 24" as the primary and the Macbook display as the secondary display. We have now purchased the wireless keyboard and trackpad, Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter, a 7 port USB hub, a stand and now a MeshWe Bluefin which connects the keyboard and trackpad together. We also have completely turned off the PC and this weekend I will be unplugging it completely and put it in the closet.. I must say we are LOVING every bit of it.

I am an IT Manager for a major business and ALL of my computers at work are Windows PC's, so I am trying to decide now if I want to do Bootcamp or just VM ware to install Windows on it just in case I need it, although I have work laptops if I really need anything for work, I am just using that as an excuse pretty much :)

So anyways, I can't be happier with the switch we made. My wife who I was the most worried about, is extremely satisfied and has actually told me she can't believe we waited this long to buy one..

2012-09-05 18.31.06.jpg

#29 OP +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:40

Well if you're sold on Final Cut and OS X, I would say get the iMac.


But that is where my issue with the iMac kicks in. I want a 1TB Internal storage drive and a 256GB SSD but its an extra £400 when a 256GB SSD is only £170 from Crucial so I would have to add it myself X_x. I could go external but I dunno, if it is just as fast as internal i'd probably do it.

@SMELTN: Exactly if I was to build a Hackintosh it won't feel like a proper Mac. Also how is the MacBook Pro working out for you as a desktop replacement?

#30 SMELTN

SMELTN

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Alabama
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, 2012 Macbook Pro, CR-48 Chromebook from Google
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 05 September 2012 - 23:42

But that is where my issue with the iMac kicks in. I want a 1TB Internal storage drive and a 256GB SSD but its an extra £400 when a 256GB SSD is only £170 from Crucial so I would have to add it myself X_x. I could go external but I dunno, if it is just as fast as internal i'd probably do it.


Thunderbolt drives are JUST as fast as internal drives now, or remember the new ones have usb 3.0 which is blazing fast as well.