AMD question

Hey everyone!

I have this processor

http://www.amazon.co...X/dp/B003YV64OI

The 4th core is unlocked and it is now technicaly a Phenom II B50 Processor @3.20 GHz.

Is it worth me upgrading to this? I'm very new with hardware so please don't flame me :)

http://www.newegg.co..._-pla-_-NA-_-NA

Another alternitive is me going over to an i5. Should I make the switch? Is it worth it with my current HW?

Thanks everyone!!!!

If your PC runs smooth as it is then perhaps look at overclocking your current processor (if possible). Save your money and if you do want to spen it then think about perhapse a new SSD or GPU? No indication of your current hardware so difficult to advise what the best way to spend your money is.

The answer is NO!

AMD will release the AMD FX-8350 in two months.

The FX-8350 is based on Piledriver which is faster than FX-8150 which is based on Bulldozer.

Depends on what you use your PC for, how tight money is, & what deal(s) you can find on a new CPU -- if you're thinking of switching AMD to Intel, Also consider that while it is possible to keep your current WIndows install, you're most likely better off reinstalling everything from scratch.

I haven't kept up on the very latest pricing, but the general point of view has been that there wasn't enough of a price difference between the FX series & the i5's to justify buying AMD [& I've been a AMD fan for years, so that's not being a fan boy]. Last spring when I really monitored pricing the i5-2500k dropped to $150 & the i7-2600k to $250 on sale. Unless you needed the i7s added cores [e.g. for video encoding] the i5 was pretty much universally considered the way to go. That said, Intel boards tend to be more expensive -- it can be harder to find a good deal at the cheaper end on a Intel m/board vs. AMD. Either way read as many user reviews & do as much research as possible on any m/board you're thinking of buying, looking for problem reports once they're a few months old.