Jump to content



Photo

Do you use the "Guest Network" feature of your router?

wifi guest network security

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

Poll: "Guest Networks"

Do you use the "Guest Network" feature of your router?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Jonny Wright

Jonny Wright

    Love my backups

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: East Midlands, England

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:17

If your router supports it, do you use the "Guest Network" feature of your router?

Feel free to post any reasons.


#2 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: New York
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:22

Nope, I have a router that has a guest-network feature, but I don't use it. If a family/friend is over, and they want the WiFi password, I'll just give it to them.

#3 daz411

daz411

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-October 08
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:23

I do. My main wireless network has a very long 16 digit password that's kind of a pain to type in. Random letters, numbers and characters. The guest one I keep pretty simple for when friends drop by and want to jump on quickly. Of course I keep the guest network isolated from the main network.

#4 ShMaunder

ShMaunder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-December 06
  • Location: Wiltshire, UK
  • OS: Ubuntu 12.04
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:25

Only seen this feature on Netgear VM routers.

No, I wouldn't use it - anybody I invite round would be trusted enough to have the wireless key :p

#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 84
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:46

daz411 makes a perfect example of how to properly use the guest network! Still secured, but easier to remember/typein psk while this might be easier to break - they are still isolated from your other devices. Exactly the point of a guest network!

You might even use such a network for devices that do not support wpa2, etc.

#6 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 08 September 2012 - 17:48

I actually just now have this feature since I switched ISP's and the new Netgear router I got is capable of doing so. I was thinking if and when I need it, I would just hop on real quick and enable it.

#7 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:00

I have it on my Netgear R6300 and it's a need for me, I have a small section of the house rented, plus I share internet with my neighbors and house guests, so yes definitely use it and love it, been using it for years actually, of course the guest network is isolated from the main network.

#8 DigitalE

DigitalE

    Tree Climber

  • Joined: 24-March 05
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:06

No. Why would I want to give anyone else access to my Internet?

#9 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:15

Not come across anyone I don't trust (or a having a device I don't trust) want to join my network.
If the need does arise, I'll switch it on....

#10 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:15

Why would I want to give anyone else access to my Internet?

And when friends come over, why let them sit on your couch. They can bring their own coffee and if they want to talk then they can just talk to themselves damnit!

#11 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:21

nope, not any more, I used it back when i had a DS Lite because it didn't support WPA but now i have no need for the guest network

#12 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 08 September 2012 - 18:23

Nope but I have separate aps isolated on their own vlan....

#13 OP Jonny Wright

Jonny Wright

    Love my backups

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: East Midlands, England

Posted 08 September 2012 - 20:38

daz411 makes a perfect example of how to properly use the guest network! Still secured, but easier to remember/typein psk while this might be easier to break - they are still isolated from your other devices. Exactly the point of a guest network!

You might even use such a network for devices that do not support wpa2, etc.


No. Why would I want to give anyone else access to my Internet?


As others have mentioned, as the name suggests its intended for "Guests", not just anyone who happens to be passing by your house. I have never considered using it before myself but am thinking of starting to. I have not yet looked into what features are available on a per-network basis but think it would be nice to separate "trusted" devices, ie my own devices from others. If a guest came round with their laptop which was infected and could see my devices there is a risk of infection etc. The point of it is not to give anyone access to your internet, it is still secured. Just seems like a good way to manage attached devices.

#14 Packet1009

Packet1009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: Ontario

Posted 08 September 2012 - 20:50

go to try it on a cisco ea4500 not too long ago.
very slick - the password is actually put in by the guest user at a forced portal site.

#15 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 08 September 2012 - 21:04

I could but I disabled it (Linksys E4200 v1 with Tomato). When I get guests over that need WiFi (which is like twice a year) I just give them the key. I change the key from time to time and it's never something I use for other purposes anyway. In fact, you can the one I'm using right now: 01189998819991197253. Extremely easy to remember (for me at least) and easy to type on pretty much any device!



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!