Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Start Menu Modifier


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#16 phailyoor

phailyoor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-September 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8 + OSX + Android
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note SGH-i717

Posted 09 September 2012 - 13:51

I love how all the apps I am seeing right now for Windows 8 are Start menu apps.


All of the other good apps for windows 8 also work in windows 7 and usually vista.


#17 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 09 September 2012 - 17:25

		private static void ShowStartMenu()
		{
			// key down event:
			const byte keyControl = 0x11;
			const byte keyEscape = 0x1B;
			keybd_event(keyControl, 0, 0, UIntPtr.Zero);
			keybd_event(keyEscape, 0, 0, UIntPtr.Zero);
			// key up event:
			const uint KEYEVENTF_KEYUP = 0x02;
			keybd_event(keyControl, 0, KEYEVENTF_KEYUP, UIntPtr.Zero);
			keybd_event(keyEscape, 0, KEYEVENTF_KEYUP, UIntPtr.Zero);
		}
		[DllImport("user32.dll")]
		static extern void keybd_event(byte bVk, byte bScan, uint dwFlags,
		   UIntPtr dwExtraInfo);

Also, awesome idea. I really want to know how it works. Would you mind posting some snippets or source?


I tried this code and it doesn't work with Windows 8 -- doesn't bring up the start menu at all. I also tried using 0x5B for the left windows key button using keybd_event and it didn't work either. Are there any other hot keys that bring up the start menu?

Also progress-wise I'll have an updated version with some bug fixes soon.

#18 KDapp

KDapp

    Windows\Windows Phone Developer

  • Joined: 23-March 10
  • Location: My house
  • OS: Windows 8 Professional\Windows 7 Professional
  • Phone: HTC Surround

Posted 09 September 2012 - 17:37

That is just strange. I tested the keybd event I sent you as well as the one above and both worked for me.

#19 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 09 September 2012 - 17:43

Won't let me update my original post but here's the updated version for anyone who's interested - http://www.diablocra...MModifier1d.zip

Bug fixes/changes include:
* Single display configurations are now supported (crashed prior due to combo box not being loaded properly)
* Single .exe (no external icon needed)
* "ImmersiveBackgroundWindow" background now positioned off screen on toggle.
* Added support for launching start menu on toggle.

That is just strange. I tested the keybd event I sent you as well as the one above and both worked for me.


I'll try it in a separate project and give it a go. Maybe there's something I'm missing in my code that is conflicting with it.

Edit: Yep it worked. I'll take a look at my code now should be able to add this in.

Edit #2: Figured it out -- pressing the hot key then invoking another hot key simultaneously was causing the conflict so I set a 60ms delay before invoking it. Updated version to 1d.

Edited by svnO.o, 09 September 2012 - 18:13.


#20 KDapp

KDapp

    Windows\Windows Phone Developer

  • Joined: 23-March 10
  • Location: My house
  • OS: Windows 8 Professional\Windows 7 Professional
  • Phone: HTC Surround

Posted 09 September 2012 - 18:10

Glad you figured it out at least to the point you can pinpoint what might be going wrong. I sent you a message with some other ideas as well :)

#21 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 09 September 2012 - 21:03

Version 1e is now available: http://www.diablocra...MModifier1e.zip

Updates include -
* Trimmed down dock size from 360px to 325px
* Added auto-dock option which will dock to primary screen's taskbar (thanks to KDapp for the suggestion)

#22 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 09 September 2012 - 21:22

Any chance of changing the colours to a custom scheme?

#23 ashtefere

ashtefere

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-September 12

Posted 12 September 2012 - 05:38

Oh god PLEASE let us choose a custom height!

I have been dreaming of allowing my taskbar to appear WHILE the windows 8 start menu is up - using your app will let me do this!

Please allow custom startmenu height! That way I can select to have a height of say - 1000px and the start menu (OR MY DOCK) will still show up in a full start screen - YES!

Please! :woot:

#24 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 12 September 2012 - 08:44

Man, this is the slickest little app! svnO.o, you did a good job.

#25 @Leo

@Leo

    Under Derp Patrol

  • Joined: 06-June 10
  • Location: /dev/null
  • OS: OS X 10.8.2; Windows 8 Enterprise
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:39

Is it possible to have a bar running on the right edge of the screen?

#26 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 12 September 2012 - 10:20

I've never played with manipulating Windows before, but is it at all possible to change the DPI a Window renders at? The start screen chooses how many rows / columns is has based on your resolution & physical screen size, so I was trying to think of ways to get around that and let you add more / less rows & columns regardless.

#27 ashtefere

ashtefere

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-September 12

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:44

PLEEEAAAASE SVN custom start screen height?!?! PLEEEAAASSSEEE!!!!

#28 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 14 September 2012 - 08:49

PLEEEAAAASE SVN custom start screen height?!?! PLEEEAAASSSEEE!!!!


Will do in the next release :)

#29 ashtefere

ashtefere

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-September 12

Posted 15 September 2012 - 01:54

I love you.

#30 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 16 September 2012 - 00:15

SM Modifier v1.1 is out: http://www.diablocra...Modifier1.1.zip

This update allows you to choose a custom height for the start screen (360px default).



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!