Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Start Menu Modifier


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#46 rfirth

rfirth

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-September 09
  • Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 620

Posted 31 January 2013 - 06:15

I just realized.... is this thing not 3rd party? this is just utilizing the tools windows hides?


It's 3rd party. It's using the win32 api to manipulate the start screen.


#47 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:15

It's 3rd party. It's using the win32 api to manipulate the start screen.


Which is interesting because it makes you wonder what types of changes we might get later on, either from MS listening to users or from tools like this.

#48 ryenus

ryenus

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 04-February 13

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:30

Thank you for this nice app! I just encountered a small glitch, when it's started via Launchy (64-bit), I always get the following unhandled exception:

************** Exception Text **************
System.InvalidOperationException: Operation is not valid due to the current state of the object.
   at SMModifier.frmSMModifier.Taskbar..ctor()
   at SMModifier.frmSMModifier.applyConfig(Boolean resetConfig)
   at SMModifier.frmSMModifier.getSettings(Int32 primaryMonitor)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


#49 Davo

Davo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-September 06

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:45

I'm admittedly being quite dumb but what does this do exactly? I couldn't figure it out from the screenshots. Is this basically using the new style Start Screen like the legacy Start Menu?

#50 chrisbax

chrisbax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 13

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:17

Despite this useful program is intended to be for both x86 and x64 versions of Windows 8, it doesn't run for the 32 bit versions of Windows.
Is it possible to fix it?
Thanks

#51 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 18 February 2013 - 00:14

Woohoo. Nice addition :D

#52 chrisbax

chrisbax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 13

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:42

Any news about the 32 bit version?? :(
For the developers... I even noticed a bug... After changing the screen resolution, the program fails to work and the the taskbar is no longer shown under the Start menu (when using the option "fit to screen")... It is necessary to enter in the program again, and click "apply" one more time... A simple workaround should be that the program will automatically apply again its task (what has to be done manually in this release)... Moreover, when the program is launched at startup, it is shown a window for a little time, that become a longer time for less powerful PCs...
It is not a critic, I only hope to be useful to the development of the program... thanks

#53 chrisbax

chrisbax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 13

Posted 23 March 2013 - 12:55

Any news? I think this program should make Windows 8 more user friendly, but is only for 64 bit users!!!

#54 1WayJonny

1WayJonny

    General, I salute you!

  • Joined: 05-May 05
  • Location: Dirty Jerzey

Posted 23 March 2013 - 13:15

Really like this program but have an issue to report. I have an issue where the start menu will not appear on the bottom. When I select BOTTOM (any size) the menu appears in the mid screen, not matter what I do it will not appear near the bottom, the top works fine though.

I am using a desktop DPI of 150% and experience the issue.

#55 1WayJonny

1WayJonny

    General, I salute you!

  • Joined: 05-May 05
  • Location: Dirty Jerzey

Posted 23 March 2013 - 15:27

Really like this program but have an issue to report. I have an issue where the start menu will not appear on the bottom. When I select BOTTOM (any size) the menu appears in the mid screen, not matter what I do it will not appear near the bottom, the top works fine though.

I am using a desktop DPI of 150% and experience the issue.


Confirmed when I went back to DPI 100% it goes on top or bottom correctly but I need a higher DPI. I have tried a few DPI settings over 100% and the issue still happens not matter the setting except 100%.

I really like the program good job, please try to knock on the DPI issue.

#56 OP svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 24 March 2013 - 02:25

I'll take a look into the above issues when I have the time. Thanks for the feedback.

#57 chrisbax

chrisbax

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 13

Posted 06 April 2013 - 15:26

Hi SVN, can you give us any news?

#58 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 28 June 2013 - 01:10

Still working on Windows 8.1



#59 harktu

harktu

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 28-September 13

Posted 28 September 2013 - 14:10

with this utility windows 8.1 would be perfect for me

this option simply should be added in taskbar settings

 

x86 support with next release plz :rofl:



#60 Azies

Azies

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-January 10

Posted 28 September 2013 - 14:12

You know, with this you could emulate the original start menu and have it come up in the lower left?