Learning Android. Best place to start.

Question

Hello,

I am a moderate to advanced user of VB6 and moderate user of VB.Net. Mainly in using VB as a front end to manipulate databases (SQL server & Access)

I would like to get into the world of mobile programming.

Yesterday I downloaded the Android SDK and Eclipse.

I tried to do the hello world example (2nd part using an input box and responding to user interaction) that was on the android site but the tutorial seemed to assume a lot. Mostly that you understand JAVA and the Java programming concepts, even though android seems to be a derivative of JAVA

I felt as though I needed a better grounding.

Could anyone recommend a good tutorial (on line or book) that would be a good place to start. I think the best approach would be starting from scratch as total novice.

Is it worth getting familiar with Java first?

Thank you in advance.

22 answers to this question

You need to be familiar with the Java programming language. The Android SDK is just a set of libraries and tools to allow you to target Android platforms, the programming language is still just Java. If you understand VB.Net then Java should be a straightforward transition.

This is the best Java learning book I know of: http://www.greenteap...thinkapjava.pdf

• Like 1

If you pick up Java and understand it, I think the next step is XML; XML is a bitch in Android and its something you pretty much will have to get use to (not only in Android but in other programming languages)

If you understand VB.Net then Java should be a straightforward transition.

I semidisagree.

I semidisagree.
Why? They're both statically typed, imperative, object-oriented languages compiled to bytecode and running on a VM. The environment and syntax differ but the semantics are essentially the same.

The language itself is pretty straight forward, and if you already know OO concepts, it's just a matter of learning the Android SDK and java library/API's.