Jump to content



Photo

Reset Nokia 3120 Classic

nokia reset securitycode

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 it_freakDude

it_freakDude

    Neowinian

  • 67 posts
  • Joined: 18-December 10
  • Location: Singapore
  • OS: Microsoft® Windows® 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 7 Mozart (Microsoft® Windows® Phone 7.8); Samsung GALAXY S Advance (Google Android™ 4.1.2 I9070PDXAME1)

Posted 13 September 2012 - 11:52

Hello people,

I wasn't sure where to post this so I posted it here. I have an old Nokia 3120 Classic phone which I wish to use as a spare phone. However when I power on the device it asks me for a security code. I have not set any code. How do I crack this code or if possible factory format this device?


#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,808 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 September 2012 - 11:55

Google seems to bring up lots of options for you. The top result gave me this.

#3 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,517 posts
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:00

Nokia Store Service Suite.

You can just reflash the firmware.

Use it as a last resort.

#4 OP it_freakDude

it_freakDude

    Neowinian

  • 67 posts
  • Joined: 18-December 10
  • Location: Singapore
  • OS: Microsoft® Windows® 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 7 Mozart (Microsoft® Windows® Phone 7.8); Samsung GALAXY S Advance (Google Android™ 4.1.2 I9070PDXAME1)

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:09

Nokia Store Service Suite. You can just reflash the firmware. Use it as a last resort.


The PC doesn't detect the phone, so the Nokia Suite wudnt work

Google seems to bring up lots of options for you. The top result gave me this.



The link doesn't work, the phone isn't locked to any carrier

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:12

Try this:

press *#7370# and press Dial. The phone will request the security code that is by default 12345

#6 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • 1,165 posts
  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / OSX 10.10
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:14

Hello people,

I wasn't sure where to post this so I posted it here. I have an old Nokia 3120 Classic phone which I wish to use as a spare phone. However when I power on the device it asks me for a security code. I have not set any code. How do I crack this code or if possible factory format this device?


Maybe you set your phone to ask security code when the sim is changed. Have you tried 12345? It's default security code for nokias.

If this doesn't work you can try hard-resetting it:
- switch off your phone
- hold these keys: *, 3, green (the one to answer calls) at the same time while switching it on
- hold them until nokia logo comes up

this completely resets your phone (deletes sms, contacts, everything on phone memory)

Try this:

press *#7370# and press Dial. The phone will request the security code that is by default 12345


This works only if you can boot your phone :)

#7 OP it_freakDude

it_freakDude

    Neowinian

  • 67 posts
  • Joined: 18-December 10
  • Location: Singapore
  • OS: Microsoft® Windows® 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 7 Mozart (Microsoft® Windows® Phone 7.8); Samsung GALAXY S Advance (Google Android™ 4.1.2 I9070PDXAME1)

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:16

Try this: press *#7370# and press Dial. The phone will request the security code that is by default 12345


The phone asks for the code immediately when I power on after the "NOKIA" screen. I cant type *# on the security code box.

Maybe you set your phone to ask security code when the sim is changed. Have you tried 12345? It's default security code for nokias. If this doesn't work you can try hard-resetting it: - switch off your phone - hold these keys: *, 3, green (the one to answer calls) at the same time while switching it on - hold them until nokia logo comes up this completely resets your phone. This works only if you can boot your phone :)



This doesn't work as well :(

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:20

The phone asks for the code immediately when I power on after the "NOKIA" screen. I cant type *# on the security code box.




This doesn't work as well :(


Sounds like whoever had the phone previously had set a security code, take it to an unlock shop

#9 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • 1,165 posts
  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / OSX 10.10
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:20

The phone asks for the code immediately when I power on after the "NOKIA" screen. I cant type *# on the security code box.




This doesn't work as well :(


It may be tricky to press 3, *, call and switch on at the same time, so you may need to try a few times. I've had a lot of nokias and needed to hard-reset them a few times and this worked every time, but never at first :)

here's a video. it's for s60v3 and v5 but it works also for your phone. Remember to hold the keys until nokia logo comes up!



#10 IntegralDerivative

IntegralDerivative

    Math is the abstract key that unlocks the physical universe

  • 486 posts
  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 7, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:29

Try to throw it in your wall. :p

#11 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,517 posts
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:42

The PC doesn't detect the phone, so the Nokia Suite wudnt work

The Nokia suite doesn't have to detect it.

It allows you to recover the software when the phone is bricked.

Like I said, last resort.

#12 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,745 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:45

Its asking for a PUK code

pm me the IMEI number this will be under the battery

#13 +-T-

-T-

    Trapmaster

  • 2,645 posts
  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: Western Australia & Scotland

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:46

Try to throw it in your wall. :p

Woah it's a 3120 Classic, that thing would take down the wall. Don't make the guy do that

#14 IntegralDerivative

IntegralDerivative

    Math is the abstract key that unlocks the physical universe

  • 486 posts
  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 7, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:47

Woah it's a 3120 Classic, that thing would take down the wall. Don't make the guy do that


Teehee :D

#15 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,808 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 13 September 2012 - 13:06

Its asking for a PUK code

I'm not so sure that it is. PUK codes are related to the SIM card rather than the phone. So technically if the OP was using this phone as a backup then he would take the SIM card from his usual phone, slot it in to the backup and then enter his PIN number, it wouldn't ask for a PUK code. That's only for when you enter your PIN number wrong too many times.

Then again, if the OP does say that it is asking for a PUK code, I will happily hold my hands up and step back.