Jump to content



Photo

Internet disconnection woes, again


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 19 September 2012 - 23:44

I'm on a DSL connection, with a Motorola Netopia 2210-02 modem establishing the connection over PPPoE and acting as a DHCP server for all 4 computers in the house through two network switches, the second one being wireless. For a long time I've had random disconnections but they would re-establish in a few seconds so I didn't mind much. Today my ISP had an issue with leasing IP addresses so the disconnections would last for a long time, which triggered me to call them and investigate the issue.

This time I got a bit more information than the other 20 times I called them. The guy told me he had several user requests over the day for disconnections, so the problem was seemingly on my side, some computer on my network must have been sending such requests and causing the disconnections. We proceeded to reset the modem to factory settings and re-entering the login data, but the problem happened again during the call so that didn't fix anything.

He suggested I try only running one computer at a time on the network to isolate the culprit, but given that these disconnections are random and sometimes do not happen in hours, it'd be very difficult to prove anything this way and cost me tons of time. I don't really understand what could be going on so I'd appreciate any technical explanations or advice. What could be sending "requests for disconnections"?

Thanks!


#2 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 20 September 2012 - 18:05

Sounds like a job for BudMan...

#3 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 September 2012 - 18:09

Sounds like a job for a NETGEAR router....

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 20 September 2012 - 18:59

"What could be sending "requests for disconnections"?"

Ah -- nothing!! What kind of connection are you set for in your router for pppoe? On Demand? He is full of **** that something on your network could send a request to disconnect. Now could something on your box be creating something like 2 many connection to cause your router to drop.. Yeah ok, are you running P2P on any boxes?

example

pppoeconnection.jpg

#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:02

Sounds like a job for a NETGEAR router....

I have a pos netgear router that disconnects constantly after 24hrs. Less than a year old.

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:03

I have a pos netgear router that disconnects constantly after 24hrs. Less than a year old.


what model? and have you tried fixing the firmware?

#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:05

the latest firmware makes it worse...2hrs disconnect.

WNDR3400

#8 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:05

the latest firmware makes it worse.

WNDR3400


contact netgear yet? please do so/.

put DDWRT on it too

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:08

yes it was much less painless to get a different router.


ddwrt lol
http://www.dd-wrt.co...etgear_WNDR3400

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:19

yes it was much less painless to get a different router.


ddwrt lol
http://www.dd-wrt.co...etgear_WNDR3400


what do you have now?

#11 simplezz

simplezz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 01-February 12

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:27

There's two things you can do.

1. The most obvious is checking the router's log, and see what's happening there.
2. There's a common dsl/adsl setting on routers. On mine it's called Connection trigger, but it varies from router to router. Basically, you can choose to have the router stay permanently connected to your ISP's server (Always On), (On Demand) which disconnects when there's no activity, or (Manual) which is self-explanatory.

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:30

^ exactly, I posted a screenshot of example of these types of settings. What is your router set to?

#13 simplezz

simplezz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 01-February 12

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:35

^ exactly, I posted a screenshot of example of these types of settings. What is your router set to?


Sorry mate I didn't see that. Ignore what I said OP and look at BudMan's post.

#14 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:46

what do you have now?

linksys E4200

that brand seems to never fail me.

#15 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 September 2012 - 19:49

linksys E4200

that brand seems to never fail me.


Opposite of me! My linksys crapped out in a week.... WRT54G....

NETGEAR WGR614 been running solid for 6 yrs LOL.... Next will be NETGEAR for me....

I'm not goin for ____ wilreless tho since thier F/W is wonky so NETGEAR it is... Unless I can get a hold of an Extreme Networks solution...