Jump to content



Photo

Odd web browser behavior

waterfox

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:09

I am having the strangest issues with waterfox now, almost every time I click on a link I am almost instantly greeted with the message that firefox can not locate server x, but after 2 or 3 reloads I am able to connect just fine. This only seems to occur with embedded links, bookmarked and RSS links seem to open just fine. I have cleared the cache and cookies as part of the troubleshooting process. What could be causing this?


#2 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:19

DNS issues?
Have you tried another browser?

#3 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:25

I have not tried any other browser and have the router configured to use OpenDNS, which I have never had any issues with before, so I am not sure where the issue is.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 84
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:48

just because you have never had issues with it before does not mean you don't look at it. What you describe sounds like a dns problem, could be with the dns resolve in the browser sure. Do you have this problem with other browsers - if so then its your dns.

Since your your using your route as dns forwarder, maybe its acting up - try rebooting it. Or verify you have fast responses from opendns, do a query with nslookup or dig on one of your boxes directly to opendns servers.

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 September 2012 - 13:06

I stopped using OpenDNS because sites started not resolving, was left with an error of some sort iirc



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!