Jump to content



Photo

Odd web browser behavior

waterfox

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:09

I am having the strangest issues with waterfox now, almost every time I click on a link I am almost instantly greeted with the message that firefox can not locate server x, but after 2 or 3 reloads I am able to connect just fine. This only seems to occur with embedded links, bookmarked and RSS links seem to open just fine. I have cleared the cache and cookies as part of the troubleshooting process. What could be causing this?


#2 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 / Chrome OS 37
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:19

DNS issues?
Have you tried another browser?

#3 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:25

I have not tried any other browser and have the router configured to use OpenDNS, which I have never had any issues with before, so I am not sure where the issue is.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 September 2012 - 12:48

just because you have never had issues with it before does not mean you don't look at it. What you describe sounds like a dns problem, could be with the dns resolve in the browser sure. Do you have this problem with other browsers - if so then its your dns.

Since your your using your route as dns forwarder, maybe its acting up - try rebooting it. Or verify you have fast responses from opendns, do a query with nslookup or dig on one of your boxes directly to opendns servers.

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 23 September 2012 - 13:06

I stopped using OpenDNS because sites started not resolving, was left with an error of some sort iirc