Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Fix Facebook Privacy Settings

14 posts in this topic

Posted

Basically I don't want people knowing where I am all the time, but some of my friends who tag me photos add the location (perhaps automagically) and I'm tired of either reviewing or manually removing the location each time. Now before timeline it was really easy to control who could add your location from this screen:

medium_f1c80dfdee78babcea26a68a16d7ee3b.jpg

Now however since I've been forcibly upgraded to Timeline most of the privacy settings have gone, it now looks like this:

post-105752-0-93649400-1348487553_thumb.

None of these buttons have any controls for restricting who can post my location, does anyone know of a fix for this short of restricting everything on my timeline?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

203 views and no answers, does anyone know the answer to this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Facebook & Privacy ? :laugh:

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Yes I'm terrible for expecting the same level of privacy as I had before timeline :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Yes I'm terrible for expecting the same level of privacy as I had before timeline :rolleyes:

I rarely visit FB but found the new timeline to be a PITA, discovered this FF addon, not sure if it will help with your problem but puts FB back to how it was before timeline

http://www.socialreviver.net/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I've seen that, while it changes timeline for me, it doesn't affect the site at all and so won't improve privacy settings

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

The newer privacy settings layout started rolling out before Timeline was even announced, let alone before it was rolled out to people, so you should have received it sometime in either August or September last year, unless it perhaps just took longer to roll out to you (although this feature should have been a quick rollout); either way, this newer privacy settings layout is not related to the release of Timeline.

Facebook removed the ability to control who can tag you in their posts that contain locations at the same time they started to allow locations to be added to any post and at the same time they implemented the option of reviewing tags. The only thing you can now do in this regard is enable the option labelled 'Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline' under the Timeline & Tagging section. This, however, will only stop the post from showing on your Timeline and in your friends' News Feeds/Tickers; friends of the person who tags you will still see you tagged in that friend's post.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Tagging should have been opt-in and not opt out... it's annoying....

this is a horrible experience I had;

after I had a miscarriage one of my "friends" tagged me in over 20 baby pictures.... that made me sick. I was furious. It hurt me very badly and I am rarely ever hurt. I untagged, reported, and blocked the bitch.

I am so sick of that crap FB pulls.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

So I guess I'm going to have to block my entire timeline from people, oh dear, this is pretty bad Facebook.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

So I guess I'm going to have to block my entire timeline from people, oh dear, this is pretty bad Facebook.

It's not FBs fault you have "friends" that refuse to respect your wishes when it comes to your location and tagging, I rarely use FB and my few friends and family know I'll drop em in a heartbeat if they tag me in photos

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

No but it is their fault that the option to prevent them has gone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

If you want privacy, don't use Facebook. Pretty simple. It is made to show interactions between people and share information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Delete your Facebook account!!! Don't expect anything less from them. I had to re-register just to find a friend whose phone number was out of service. They somehow identified me, and under "Add people you know", it's showing me people I actually know. I haven't used Facebook in almost two years, yet they still have all this info stored about me.

It's been proven, they NEVER delete anything about you. Due to a law passed in another country (France, maybe?), a law student requested all of the information that Facebook had about him. Some of the details were kept hidden from him due to "trade secrets", but the information they did reveal was quite disturbing. EVERYTHING, going years back, logging information about you that you never even considered they might. Worse yet, they never delete any post or private message, but simply "flag" them as "deleted". While you can't see it anymore, it's still stored on their servers... forever...

So, again, Delete your Facebook account!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Stop people from tagging you in photo's that's the only solution as there is no privacy in facebook.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.