Jump to content



Photo

Wireless Router really slow - Need help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 dimithrak

dimithrak

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-November 05

Posted 26 September 2012 - 15:39

Hey Guys,

I have a Linksys Wireless Router WRT320N

Of late, the speeds coming out of it has been really slow. When I go to Speedtest.net, the ping is at 700 and the download speed is at 0.64 MBPS. Whereas when I connect it direct w/o the router, its at a consistent 8 MBPS.

I reset the damn thing, but Im now back to the same situation. Any ideas on what I need to do?

appreciate the thoughts.

dimithrak! :)


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 26 September 2012 - 15:41

Is this router password protected ?

Even if it is, someone (or several) could have hacked in.

Try changing channels and password.

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 September 2012 - 15:43

Not saying it will fix it, but your router is supported by DD-WRT Firmware, which is generally 10x better than any stock firmwares

http://www.dd-wrt.co...on_instructions

#4 OP dimithrak

dimithrak

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-November 05

Posted 26 September 2012 - 15:51

Is this router password protected ?

Even if it is, someone (or several) could have hacked in.

Try changing channels and password.


changed the password to. Didnt work :(

Not saying it will fix it, but your router is supported by DD-WRT Firmware, which is generally 10x better than any stock firmwares

http://www.dd-wrt.co...on_instructions


Thats a bit too complicated for me mate.. :p.. anything simpler?

#5 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 26 September 2012 - 15:52

how about tomato?

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 September 2012 - 16:04

changed the password to. Didnt work :(



Thats a bit too complicated for me mate.. :p.. anything simpler?


lol, not really, if you want a custom firmware you have to follow the guide :)

#7 Charisma

Charisma

    e-1337-ist

  • Joined: 02-May 10
  • Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Posted 26 September 2012 - 16:06

Moved here, also removed duplicate thread.
:)

#8 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 26 September 2012 - 16:19

^ Charisma is on the ball.

changed the password to. Didnt work :(

Thats a bit too complicated for me mate.. :p.. anything simpler?


Buy and install a new router. ;)

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 September 2012 - 18:22

Have you tested while wired to the router vs wireless? This should be test 1. If fast wired - are you in fact sure your even connecting to your own wireless network. You would not believe the amount of times I have seen where user is connected to network across the street ;) Its amazing how common this issue is!

If you are in fact connecting to yours and still slow, but fast while wired then need to see what your connecting at. Are you at N speeds, G? Are there any other wireless devices connected at the same time as you that could be using up the sharedbandwidth. Are you running P2P over wireless or even wired for example?

#10 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 September 2012 - 18:37

Have you tested while wired to the router vs wireless? This should be test 1. If fast wired - are you in fact sure your even connecting to your own wireless network. You would not believe the amount of times I have seen where user is connected to network across the street ;) Its amazing how common this issue is!


Years ago working for a little comp shop, we used to support an office building and guaranteed every week we'd get a call saying someone had access to the net but not to their network shares, and guaranteed every time they had connected to the carpet shops unsecured wifi next-door

#11 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 26 September 2012 - 18:44

that's why it's good to have a clear name for your SSID

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 September 2012 - 20:06

It was funny as hell to be honest back a few years when you would look and see 6 different linksys SSIDs, all open and then person having issues would not even be broadcasting their SSID and wondering why they were having issues ;)

Ask them - how do you think your computer knows which one to connect too? And they would just look at you like you asked them to prove PNP



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!