Jump to content



Photo

Stereo to Mono Computer Sound Output


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 hobblyhoy

hobblyhoy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 05
  • Location: kiwi land

Posted 26 September 2012 - 20:37

I need the audio signal that leaves my computer to be in mono instead of stereo.

Note that this is different than just entering the audio settings and shifting the balance to once side. That simply disables one channel of audio whereas I need to mix the two together. I also do not want to go with your standard Radio Shack stereo>mono hardware plug because those are known to reduce the quality of the signal and can damage sensitive equipment.

What I would like is a software option that integrates with the sound driver in some way to export completely mixed mono audio.

The operating system is windows xp but if you find something for 7 I'd be interested as well.

Thanks,
~Nathan Rooke


#2 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 26 September 2012 - 20:47

I need the audio signal that leaves my computer to be in mono instead of stereo.

Note that this is different than just entering the audio settings and shifting the balance to once side. That simply disables one channel of audio whereas I need to mix the two together. I also do not want to go with your standard Radio Shack stereo>mono hardware plug because those are known to reduce the quality of the signal and can damage sensitive equipment.

What I would like is a software option that integrates with the sound driver in some way to export completely mixed mono audio.

The operating system is windows xp but if you find something for 7 I'd be interested as well.

Thanks,
~Nathan Rooke


Some soundcards have options to do that, think one of my Creative labs cards lets you set the output to mono, 2.1, 5.1, 7.1 etc and does combineing

#3 OP hobblyhoy

hobblyhoy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 05
  • Location: kiwi land

Posted 28 September 2012 - 16:35

Some soundcards have options to do that, think one of my Creative labs cards lets you set the output to mono, 2.1, 5.1, 7.1 etc and does combineing

Yeah I was just hoping not to have to purchase additional hardware. And I'm not even sure if there is an available PCI port.

Thank you anyways though, I'll look into it.

#4 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 28 September 2012 - 16:41

How about setting your Speaker settings to Laptop Mono Speakers?

#5 OP hobblyhoy

hobblyhoy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 05
  • Location: kiwi land

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:09

How about setting your Speaker settings to Laptop Mono Speakers?


Unfortunately changing that does nothing for this setup. Everything remains playing in stereo.

What did end up working for my particular scenario is having VLC player load a playlist on startup and the target tag "--directx-audio-speaker=Mono"

Thanks everyone for your input.