Jump to content



Photo

TVis 120hz, but only shows 60hz


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 20:57

Just bought a 55" LG 1080 120hz 3D TV and there's no option to switch it between 120hz or 60hz. I have Comcast cable and it plays 60hz. I have a HDMI cable that supports up to 240hz. How can I get 120hz?


#2 I am Reid

I am Reid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-November 05
  • Location: Columbus, Ohio

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:00

if your source is only 60hz whats it matter? Besides, I doubt you will notice any difference between the different hz levels.

#3 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:00

I thought 120Hz was for 3D mode only?

#4 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:06

Yeah your cable signal is just 1080i60 converted to 1080p30 by your box or tv. The tv will do the 120hz conversion internally, but for tv it won't matter. For movies it's better if it has a 24p mode.

120 only has purpose for 3d. And even then, 120 is not high enough to avoid crosstalk.

If you connected a computer to it, it might be able to talk to it in 120, but I kind of doubt it actually supports that as an input anyway.

#5 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:11

All my friends have TVs that shows and movies look like there moving fast, and I get annoyed at looking at it. They said it was 120hz, but my TV doesn't do that.

My TV does say 1080i60hz

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:13

I have a 100Hz tv, but actually I don't I have a 60Hz tv that has Active Display - all it does is fake 100Hz by doubling the time each frame is displayed giving that cheap camcorder effect (nice for nature films)

#7 Warboy

Warboy

    The Doctor

  • Joined: 25-November 06
  • Location: Michigan
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:16

there is no true 120hz TVs, they are only doubled frame to produce a "120hz effect", Only a hand full of computer monitors can accept a 120hz source and produce a true 120hz image.

#8 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:23

Why does my TV read 60hz then? The people at BestBuy couldn't even give an answer. I think I'll just take it back.

Then what about 240hz?.

#9 SuperKid

SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • Location: Birmingham, England, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.8, iOS 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:24

All my friends have TVs that shows and movies look like there moving fast, and I get annoyed at looking at it. They said it was 120hz, but my TV doesn't do that.

My TV does say 1080i60hz


Oh god tell me about it it is absolutely horrible its a feature I turn RIGHT OFF when I get a new TV. The so-called "200Hz boost" makes it look like everything is on fast mode and "too real" its stupid!

#10 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:25

Are you subscribing for HD channels with Comcast ?

You don't say what brand and model the TV is.

I would check the manufacturer's website.

#11 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:32

I'm watching Homeland on ShowtimeHD right now and they look like their moving faster than other shows.

Are you subscribing for HD channels with Comcast ?

You don't say what brand and model the TV is.

I would check the manufacturer's website.


I get HD channels.

Model is: 55LM6700-UA

#12 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:33

Oh god tell me about it it is absolutely horrible its a feature I turn RIGHT OFF when I get a new TV. The so-called "200Hz boost" makes it look like everything is on fast mode and "too real" its stupid!


Indeed. I have an LG 47" 3DTV and the first thing I did was disable the TruMotion feature (the higher refresh rate) as it was incredibly annoying. It was so obvious it was on and I could always tell within seconds if it was enabled.

As for the OP, the higher refresh rates are emulated because TV isn't broadcast at 120Hz.

#13 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:38

TruMotion is what it is! So what's the point of these hertz?

#14 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:44

^ Higher hertz supposedly reacts faster to action.

I honestly never noticed any lag or blur with my ordinary 60 Hz HDTV.

#15 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 29 September 2012 - 21:44

To sell TVs. They *can* be used to improve the quality with a good enough video processor, but it can also make it worse.