Jump to content



Photo

Duel-boot Windows 7 + 8

win8 win7

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 McKay

McKay

    Grossly Incandescent.

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:20

I currently have Windows 8 RTM installed, however I cannot get a program to work correctly, My last option is to dual-boot Windows 7 on there, I've tried googling for the answers and EVERY SINGLE tutorial began with "Install Windows 7 first". However I cannot do that.

How do I dual-boot Windows 7 and have the dual-boot screen?


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:32

Partition the drive, install 7 on the new partition, boot 7 and open MSCONFIG and set 8 as default OS if you want the 8 bootloader, 7 as default if you want 7's bootloader

Pretty sure 7 will add 8 on its own, but if not, grab easyBCD and add it manually

#3 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 30 September 2012 - 21:42

7 cannot recognize 8, as it has no clue what it is.

#4 OP McKay

McKay

    Grossly Incandescent.

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 30 September 2012 - 22:05

But if I go into this screen in after Installing Windows 7 on a Partition, I can select the other OS and then restart?

Posted Image

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 September 2012 - 22:17

But if I go into this screen in after Installing Windows 7 on a Partition, I can select the other OS and then restart?

Posted Image



I said, if it's not there, install easyBCD and add it manually

7 can add 8 to its bootloader, I've done it myself, but that was installing 8 last, the only issue you might run into is having to add the 8 entry using easyBCD

#6 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:18

Could you not install WIndows 7 and then use the Windows 8 disk, boot into and the user the Startup and Repair option. From there just get Windows 8 and fixup your dualbooting options.

#7 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:30

I currently have Windows 8 RTM installed, however I cannot get a program to work correctly, My last option is to dual-boot Windows 7 on there, I've tried googling for the answers and EVERY SINGLE tutorial began with "Install Windows 7 first". However I cannot do that.

How do I dual-boot Windows 7 and have the dual-boot screen?


Why not run a VM for your Win7? Easier and less likely to break stuff.

#8 notuptome2004

notuptome2004

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:22

have you tried going in to advanced start up option under general options in the Metro control panel

#9 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:31

I currently have Windows 8 RTM installed, however I cannot get a program to work correctly, My last option is to dual-boot Windows 7 on there, I've tried googling for the answers and EVERY SINGLE tutorial began with "Install Windows 7 first". However I cannot do that.

How do I dual-boot Windows 7 and have the dual-boot screen?


What is the program? There is most likely a solution to getting it to run. Will it not install at all? If it did install, did you try running in compatibility mode?

#10 OP McKay

McKay

    Grossly Incandescent.

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 04 October 2012 - 18:19

What is the program? There is most likely a solution to getting it to run. Will it not install at all? If it did install, did you try running in compatibility mode?


It was the software used for the Elgato HDMI Capture Card, I installed Windows 7 on a partition, it automatically created the bootloader needed to choose between Operating Systems on startup. I was just unsure because the last time I dual-booted was Vista and it required babysitting every step for me, it never created its own dual bootloader so I had to input one myself.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!