Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Gullible Jones

Gullible Jones

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 11

Posted 01 October 2012 - 22:39

Simply put, is there a convenient, non-hazardous way to install all available OS updates on Windows XP without rebooting repeatedly? How about on Windows Vista and 7?

I've looked into QChain, but
a) MS says it may break my system.
b) Every download link I've found for it is dead.

Are there any alternatives out there?


#2 pack34

pack34

    Professional Electron Wrangler

  • Joined: 04-July 11

Posted 01 October 2012 - 22:53

Why do you need to get all the updates at once? The OS downloads and installs updates automatically so if you don't mess with it the computer will gradually update itself over a couple days of regular use.

#3 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 01 October 2012 - 22:55

dont think you can do this. What is so wrong with rebooting??, what about Patchmate http://www.ghacks.ne...h-patchmate-xp/

#4 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 October 2012 - 23:00

Outside of a service pack I would say no. Some updates patch previous updates and can't be installed before that update is installed...

#5 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 01 October 2012 - 23:00

You no longer need QChain to install multiple updates after SP3 was introduced. Just install them all without rebooting, then reboot.

Only catch is, you'll still need to do more updates, as there is updates for the updates. Yes, i'm serious.

#6 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows Embedded Standard 8 & Server 2012/08 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 October 2012 - 23:04

WSUS for after a reformat and cscript "the windows update vbscript file that was released on msdn google it" in a scheduled task every 15 minutes for nag free updates asap

Might want to turn off the auto reboot and reminders

#7 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 01 October 2012 - 23:16

I don't think it's possible to do it all without restarting. Fortunately, you can configure Windows 7 to download and install updates automatically on a given date/time (or everday). I believe the default date and time is everyday at 3:00 AM for the "Install updates automatically" option. If you're away from your computer for an extended period of time, Windows will restart your computer.

I recently formatted my hard drive and installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. The update process only took a handful of restarts for me (including any subsequent updates for software like Office as well as driver updates).

I don't know if Windows XP has this feature because I haven't used it in over 6 years.

#8 Simon-

Simon-

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 02 October 2012 - 00:08

Run Windows update instead of waiting for Automatic Updates after installing from disk that already contains the latest service pack? Might be two reboots, but it really doesn't matter.

#9 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 625

Posted 02 October 2012 - 00:13

Probably wont go down too well around these parts, but there are "releases" available with all updates included. Usually just a months worth of updates are needed after a fresh install.

#10 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 02 October 2012 - 00:15

Probably wont go down too well around these parts, but there are "releases" available with all updates included. Usually just a months worth of updates are needed after a fresh install.


What else have they managed to load the release with in addition to any updates?

#11 ElliottLan

ElliottLan

    one three three seven

  • Joined: 14-April 03
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Lindows

Posted 02 October 2012 - 00:23

I would just reformat and use nlite to slipstream all the hotfixes into the iso It lets you include drivers too. Nlite is so easy to use and you can include pretty much anything from entire service packs to your serial so you dont have to type it in.

But at that point if you own a legal copy of xp (as in a legit serial number) I personally have no moral issues with getting a pirated slipstreamed copy of xp and installing it because scene groups can usually do it a lot better than I can... unless of course you are the kind of person who doesn't trust scene releases to be clean of rootkits etc.

#12 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 625

Posted 02 October 2012 - 00:23

What else have they managed to load the release with in addition to any updates?

As far as I know, the releases are always clean. It's a very well known group.

#13 OP Gullible Jones

Gullible Jones

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 11

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:17

You no longer need QChain to install multiple updates after SP3 was introduced. Just install them all without rebooting, then reboot.

Only catch is, you'll still need to do more updates, as there is updates for the updates. Yes, i'm serious.


Wow, I missed that; thank you. I didn't realize that functionality was now built into Windows.

#14 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 02 October 2012 - 01:55

Autopatcher or WSUS Offline Update, maybe?

#15 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 02 October 2012 - 02:06

Wow, I missed that; thank you. I didn't realize that functionality was now built into Windows.

No problem. They updated the installer at the end of SP2 to eliminate the requirement of QChain which made updates much easier to do.

It's still a bit of a bug-bear for the amount of updates required, but if you wish, you could integrate them into a SP3 CD and reduce the need for so many updates. Same can be done for Vista/7 as well, but you'll need v-lite to do this as it's not "officially supported" (but works fine).



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!