Jump to content



Photo

PC remotes


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:02

Ok im thinking of getting a remote for my PC to replace the slightly buggy droid based remotes for apps like media player classic. I am thinking about getting the logitech Harmony 300i as it has a nice low price point but i see nothing saying it can be used with PC so i was wondering if it can be used to control PC apps and can some of the buttons be ramapped? if not are there any other versions or brands that could suit my needs?


thanks!


#2 OP Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:59

anyone?

#3 MarkusDarkus

MarkusDarkus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-October 04
  • Location: Birmingham, England

Posted 02 October 2012 - 10:12

If the remote is just for controlling your PC then IMO stay away from IR remotes. Taste the greatness of RF remotes and you will not look back.

http://www.logitech....tes/harmony-900

Or for a budget you want something like this

http://www.quietpc.com/imon-24g.

Although it's not available anymore so if you can find one...

You can also google bluetooth remotes but I dunno what the quality of those would be as I'm not impressed by my bluetooth PC peripherals.

I still use it and I would recommend it if you can get your hands on one.

#4 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 02 October 2012 - 10:28

I own a basic IR remote for use with media centre and I absolutely love it. Windows treats those devices like a HID input device and I believe software does exist that allows you to remap key functions for input devices, however you'd have to alter it depending on what app you wanted to run.

#5 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 02 October 2012 - 14:47

I've heard that XBOX remotes work good as well. Never used on, but read around

#6 bean1234567

bean1234567

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-October 06

Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:04

I've heard that XBOX remotes work good as well. Never used on, but read around


you can buy a usb reviever for x box input devices for the PC, i use a 360 game pad and some free software (cant remember the name off hand, google it) to allow one of the thumb sticks to act as the mouse, works great and its RF so has a long distance.

pleanty of buttons to do what you need to control the pc

#7 OP Azusa

Azusa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-December 04

Posted 04 October 2012 - 11:36

you can buy a usb reviever for x box input devices for the PC, i use a 360 game pad and some free software (cant remember the name off hand, google it) to allow one of the thumb sticks to act as the mouse, works great and its RF so has a long distance.

pleanty of buttons to do what you need to control the pc


can you remap some of the buttons?