Jump to content



Photo

7 app background limit in Windows 8?

win8

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#16 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 09 October 2012 - 16:02

/Windows 8 :rolleyes:


#17 notchinese

notchinese

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-October 12

Posted 09 October 2012 - 16:19

Well the problem is apps that do use the lock screen and run in the background are limited to 7 and there is no way to know whether an app will require such access until you try to enable its notifications and you get the error. That is not enough and means you have to micromanage your apps which is strange for a supposed desktop operating system.



What do you mean by "real work"? What is the point of using the OS if you don't use its features?


Because the Windows 8 DESKTOP is improved over Windows 7, not to mention you get all the under the hood performance and security improvements. How hard is that to grasp?

#18 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 09 October 2012 - 18:01

Why would you need to have 7 metro apps running simultaneously?


Because you aren't support to close them is the mantra. (I get 10 for example at 1080)

I also dislike how I have little indication for app resource utilization in within RT.

#19 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:13

ITT lots of people know nothing about how Windows 8 works.

FYI, the resolution only limits how many apps are in the left side app switcher. When apps are pushed off the switcher, they're still open, you'll just need to hit the tile to switch back to the app.

wow, I didn't know that. Kind of ****ed up though, couldn't they just scroll the switcher similar to iOS? :/

#20 scaramonga

scaramonga

    ME!

  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Location: Bonnie Scotland
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:19

Because the Windows 8 DESKTOP is improved over Windows 7, not to mention you get all the under the hood performance and security improvements. How hard is that to grasp?


Definately Chinese.

#21 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:36

Definately Chinese.

lol, he's right though.

#22 OP efjay

efjay

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 10

Posted 10 October 2012 - 18:09

Because the Windows 8 DESKTOP is improved over Windows 7, not to mention you get all the under the hood performance and security improvements. How hard is that to grasp?


You missed the point I was making, it was not a literal question.

#23 Beyond Godlike

Beyond Godlike

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 10
  • Location: Winterpeg

Posted 10 October 2012 - 18:11

Ill stick to Windows 7 :D...Multitasking on the taskbar works fine there, and I dont want a mobile OS on my gaming laptop or gaming desktop that are capable of multitasking.

#24 contextfree

contextfree

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-January 11

Posted 10 October 2012 - 18:31

People are confusing apps showing in the switcher and apps that are "open" or running in the background. These are two completely separate, unrelated things. (The Start screen is supposed to be the main way of switching apps, as well as launching them (there is not really supposed to be much of a distinction between those two things - switching = launching, more or less. conceptually, "all apps are always running all of the time"). The switcher is there just as a convenient way of going back to a recent app (or smapping it), using it as your main way of switching doesn't really work because you have to scan the ever-changing list to find the app you want, if the list gets too long it's faster to just get the app from the start screen, where it's consistently at the same place.)

I know this has already been mentioned before in this thread, but people are continuing to confuse them so I thought I'd mention it again.

#25 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 10 October 2012 - 18:52

People are confusing apps showing in the switcher and apps that are "open" or running in the background. These are two completely separate, unrelated things.


However, it's a relevant limitation. There isn't any practical limit to the number of applications on the Windows taskbar, yet the situation is very different when you jump into WinRT apps - it's a very low limit at that. It irritates me that Microsoft opted to implement a second taskbar just for Metro apps and to have it hidden by default, along with the aforementioned limitations. It really does seem bolted on. The biggest problem with Windows 8 is not WinRT apps themselves (although there are some very striking limitations over traditional apps) but the way WinRT apps and the desktop interact, which is - quite frankly - poor. I'm really intrigued to see what Microsoft will do with Windows 9 - or if we'll see major changes implemented in a Service Pack - because it could go either way. We could see more limitations and a move towards a closed ecosystem or we could see Microsoft respond to the criticism and provide a unified experience for both desktop and WinRT apps. Microsoft made a lot of changes to Windows 8 quite late into development (I don't recall any previous release having so many changes made post Release Candidate stage), so it's possible it was just rushed.

#26 contextfree

contextfree

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-January 11

Posted 10 October 2012 - 19:44

However, it's a relevant limitation. There isn't any practical limit to the number of applications on the Windows taskbar, yet the situation is very different when you jump into WinRT apps - it's a very low limit at that. It irritates me that Microsoft opted to implement a second taskbar just for Metro apps and to have it hidden by default, along with the aforementioned limitations. It really does seem bolted on.


Ugh ... the switcher is not really meant as a counterpoint to the taskbar, in that it's a shortcut to get to "recent" apps not "running" apps. Think of it like the little arrow next to the Back button in Windows/File Explorer, or the address bar of a web browser, showing recent history. But this gets to one of my pet peeves in that I'm not sure the switcher should even have been added at all as it just confuses things - the Start screen is a better way to switch apps most of the time. The switcher is useful as a way of snapping apps, but there should be a better way of snapping apps from the start screen anyway, so ...

#27 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 10 October 2012 - 20:13

Why would you need more than a couple Metro applications actually running full time? The number of programs that actually need to be running 100% of the time isn't that great and would work perfectly fine with scheduled updates/notifications. Media players, torrent clients, etc sure. But for the vast majority of Metro applications, not really.. 99% of the time they're waiting on you to do something anyway or run functions at scheduled times.. they wake up, do their thing and go back to sleep again.


They don't allow any MetroApp to run in the background and only allow scheduled tasks to do so. For them to put any limit on the desktop is a joke. I don't think my Quad Core + HyperThreading i7 with 16GB of RAM and an SSD would even feel the impact of the apps running 24/7 or the background tasks running just as long.

Those limits are fine on my cellphone where the increased activity = battery drain. No such scenario exists on my PC here at home.

#28 +Brandon Live

Brandon Live

    Seattle geek

  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 12 October 2012 - 15:51

They don't allow any MetroApp to run in the background and only allow scheduled tasks to do so. For them to put any limit on the desktop is a joke. I don't think my Quad Core + HyperThreading i7 with 16GB of RAM and an SSD would even feel the impact of the apps running 24/7 or the background tasks running just as long.

Those limits are fine on my cellphone where the increased activity = battery drain. No such scenario exists on my PC here at home.


Actually one of the most common performance problems people hit on desktop PCs is "runaway" apps. The new model goes a long way to preventing exactly this problem.

#29 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:28

Actually one of the most common performance problems people hit on desktop PCs is "runaway" apps. The new model goes a long way to preventing exactly this problem.


I don't know if you're being serious or not here... You're seriously suggesting that we shouldn't be allowed to run more than one app at a time on Quad Core CPUs with HT (which effectively handle 8 threads at a time)?

#30 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 October 2012 - 02:32

hypervisors