Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Apps Nightmare


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
84 replies to this topic

#61 OP AngelGraves13

AngelGraves13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-September 07
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 23 October 2012 - 20:19

I have the Games app on my x64 desktop. Where is this info coming from? Mind posting up hard data showing this?


Go to the Store. Look under Top Free in the Spotlight section. Find Games in the list. It will say you don't meet requirements to install it. Look at the comments.

Yes, Games comes pre-installed with Windows 8. There isn't much of an issue there. I'm able to use it.


#62 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 20:54

Yup, odd. I hope the Store app gets some much needed update love soon too. Its still borked in many ways, I assume this 'listing' is only symptomatic of that.

I'd just be happy if it for once could keep track of how many app updates there actually are. The tile shows 8, the counter on the main menu shows 3 but when I click update only one is listed. Fan****ingtastic.

#63 +unabatedshagie

unabatedshagie

    It used to be good on here.

  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: SUNNY Scotland, like thats gonna happen :)
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 23 October 2012 - 20:55

I've just installed solitaire on my laptop.

It's actually much better than I expected.

#64 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 23 October 2012 - 21:05

I hope the Store app gets some much needed update love soon too. Its still borked in many ways,


Darn tootin'
Posted Image

Blergh to HTML based applications :p

At any rate, even if the store application actually worked properly, it's still a rather terrible design that wastes a serious amount of space and does barely anything to aid application discovery. It's a shame because you know there are teams at / available to Microsoft who know how to design stuff like this properly, but they don't seem to have been let anywhere these included applications...

#65 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 21:21

I agree. They should know this stuff yet both the W8 and WP7 store organization and searching is terrible. How hard is it to have a working search engine for a few thousand apps? I know hierarchy is anathema, but the categories simply don't work well either - and share the same problems as the All Programs menu - its ridiculously hard to browse for anything - which means search, which is still broken.

#66 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 23 October 2012 - 21:35

The store and the apps seem buggy as hell. I've had the store indicate I had updates and then had no available updates display in the store. I've had apps crash for no apparent reason. Right now I have a strange problem where any web links in the store or in an app will not open in a browser, so if I wanted to go to an app's homepage and see more screenshots or information I can't do that. On a device like the Surface RT that sounds kind of scary, as one might end up resetting the device and installing all their apps from scratch again frequently. I haven't had any issue like where I can't get an app to install, though. Hopefully they will release an update for the OS at some point that will make the experience more stable.

#67 PUC_Snakeman

PUC_Snakeman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-July 01

Posted 23 October 2012 - 23:45

An hour ago, I confirmed that the Games app said "ARM" only for "Supported Processors".
I uninstalled it from my x64 machine, and confirmed it said that I did not meet minimum requirements, and could not reinstall it.

Now (an hour later), it lists "x86, x64, ARM" for "Supported Processors", and I can install it.

So, they fixed it!

#68 OP AngelGraves13

AngelGraves13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-September 07
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 24 October 2012 - 00:11

Yeah, they finally updated it!

Guess that fixes most of the issues with the store.

#69 brink668

brink668

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-September 07

Posted 24 October 2012 - 00:14

Your not the only one having those issues we have 10 Test Boxes for Windows 8 at work not even on the domain yet all having those issues as well

#70 +Chsoriano

Chsoriano

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-November 03
  • Location: Texas

Posted 24 October 2012 - 02:41

They're obviously still working out some bugs, my Store app shows that I have Fruit Ninja installed but I don't. I had the trial app back during the beta but I never purchased it. It tried to "update" the game now but fails every time. Kind of annoying... hope this stuff gets fixed by Friday.

#71 Necronos

Necronos

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-August 10

Posted 24 October 2012 - 20:08

I have the same problem as Chsoriano... So annoying and haven't found a way to fix it. ):

#72 +unabatedshagie

unabatedshagie

    It used to be good on here.

  • Joined: 06-April 03
  • Location: SUNNY Scotland, like thats gonna happen :)
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 24 October 2012 - 20:33

Wow, I've not really used a whole load of the apps but just realized today that I can't have an app open on each of my monitors at the same time.

That's a good design choice. /sarcasm

#73 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 24 October 2012 - 21:14

They're obviously still working out some bugs, my Store app shows that I have Fruit Ninja installed but I don't. I had the trial app back during the beta but I never purchased it. It tried to "update" the game now but fails every time. Kind of annoying... hope this stuff gets fixed by Friday.


Uninstall the game, then go back into the store and look at games/apps you haven't installed.

There you will find Fruit Ninja waiting to be installed...and it's the full version. I'm not sure if it was intentional or not. I then went to the store and checked the normal listing for it and it had the $4.99 price. I clicked the option to buy it (figuring why not see what happens) and it asked for my password, and didn't charge me.

I checked my billing and transaction history...so either it's an issue where they are giving it out for free and didn't mean to...or it's a little thank you gift that they don't mention for the earlier build users.

I'm hoping it's the latter since I quite enjoy the game and yes it does work for me. :)

Wow, I've not really used a whole load of the apps but just realized today that I can't have an app open on each of my monitors at the same time.

That's a good design choice. /sarcasm


Sarcasm not needed...that's what Snap is for...but you didn't watch the tutorial or read any documentation I can see :p

#74 ~Johnny

~Johnny

    Earthling

  • Joined: 10-August 08
  • Location: London, England, Earth, Milky Way

Posted 24 October 2012 - 21:27

Sarcasm not needed...that's what Snap is for...but you didn't watch the tutorial or read any documentation I can see :p


That's not useful in a scenario where you have multiple monitors, and would want Modern UI applications in all their glory on each of them individually.

#75 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 24 October 2012 - 21:37

That's not useful in a scenario where you have multiple monitors, and would want Modern UI applications in all their glory on each of them individually.


Huh...I haven't seen that usage scenario really come up. If anything I've generally seen one monitor dedicated to older style WinApps and one dedicated to Metro style stuff. I haven't really seen an issue with that usage scenario.

Any examples of where this would come in handy, with some specific usage scenarios? :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!