Jump to content



Photo

Java™ SE 6 Update 37

java 6 update 37

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,484 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 17 October 2012 - 06:34

Java™ SE 6 Update 37 is out.

View: Release Notes
Download: Java™ SE 6 Update 37 Runtime Environment (for Linux, Solaris, Windows)


#2 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,721 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 17 October 2012 - 07:36

Downloaded this earlier today after I got a notification about an update. I didn't even see u36! lol

Thanks for the heads up. (Y)

#3 Simon-

Simon-

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,724 posts
  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:43

Just another non fully-automatic update that users will not install leaving gaping security holes in their system. I will continue to uninstall it until they put in some real autoupdate.

#4 xdot.tk

xdot.tk

  • 964 posts
  • Joined: 29-May 09

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:14

Java 7 also. http://www.oracle.co...ds-1859586.html

Oracle Java SE Critical Patch Update Advisory - October 2012

#5 OP +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,484 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:20

Java 7 also. http://www.oracle.co...ds-1859586.html

Oracle Java SE Critical Patch Update Advisory - October 2012

Posted as well: http://www.neowin.ne...-se-7-update-9/

#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,633 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:21

Just another non fully-automatic update that users will not install leaving gaping security holes in their system. I will continue to uninstall it until they put in some real autoupdate.


Over here even the dumbest users have been taught by everything from newspapers to banks to always click yes on the java updates. Not seeing a problem

#7 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • 20,184 posts
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 17 October 2012 - 10:09

If I have Java 7, do I need Java 6? (like with the .net packages)

#8 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,633 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 17 October 2012 - 10:44

no. or very unlikely.

#9 dtytfyiutiufg

dtytfyiutiufg

    Neowinian

  • 186 posts
  • Joined: 24-December 02

Posted 17 October 2012 - 19:22

If I have Java 7, do I need Java 6? (like with the .net packages)


You should be able to just install Java 7 however some poorly coded apps target a specific JRE version and may require 6. What Java based apps do you need to run? If none then I would advise uninstalling Java as it is quite a popular vector for exploitation.

#10 mancode20

mancode20

    Neowinian

  • 882 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 03

Posted 17 October 2012 - 20:09

Does Java 7 work with Yahoo! Games, or is it better to stick with 6? Either through the website or Yahoo! Messenger. You think they could just make it Flash based and be done with it. I think that's the only time I run Java.

#11 MurkWorks

MurkWorks

    Neowinian

  • 79 posts
  • Joined: 09-April 07

Posted 17 October 2012 - 20:28

If I have Java 7, do I need Java 6? (like with the .net packages)


I do not believe they load side by side like a lot of the dot net clients. It's one or the other. Some people may need to stay at version 6 for compatibility with managing certain hardware devices or specific apps.

#12 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • 2,828 posts
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 17 October 2012 - 21:55

yeah saw today that Java 7u9 was out as well. Also can't understand why Oracle (and before Sun) haven't made a tool yet to deploy Java in enterprise environments, making difficult to update dozens and hundreds of computers or servers. Heck, i throw Adobe in that bucket as well.

I do not believe they load side by side like a lot of the dot net clients. It's one or the other. Some people may need to stay at version 6 for compatibility with managing certain hardware devices or specific apps.


you can have Java 6 and 7 in the same machine as for loading specific apps that require a certain JRE (for example Java 6) and the rest of the apps that require a JRE (Java 7). this isn't a Java problem but poorly written code that requires a certain JRE, opening a security hole when it's the developer(s) fault.

#13 Arkose

Arkose

    Neowinian

  • 263 posts
  • Joined: 29-April 09

Posted 17 October 2012 - 22:05

Also can't understand why Oracle (and before Sun) haven't made a tool yet to deploy Java in enterprise environments, making difficult to update dozens and hundreds of computers or servers. Heck, i throw Adobe in that bucket as well.

Oracle and Adobe provide MSI versions of their installers, as do most other vendors, which can be automatically installed/updated/uninstalled on managed client systems using Group Policy.

#14 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • 2,828 posts
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 17 October 2012 - 22:15

Oracle and Adobe provide MSI versions of their installers, as do most other vendors, which can be automatically installed/updated/uninstalled on managed client systems using Group Policy.


yes but can you manage it? can you see what Java build your entire network has (without installing MOM, SC2012 or KB/inventory software)? And GP are only useful in AD/LDAP environment; if an enterprise is cloud based then it's possible that they don't even have a DC, so no AD/LDAP.

#15 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 26,403 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 17 October 2012 - 22:16

Personally I use patchmypc. I have it setup to run every night at 3am with the patchmypc /s switch. It updates everything automatically for me. Today I woke up and I found a Adobe Reader IX on my desktop :D