Jump to content



Photo

SSD on a Small Business Server. Good idea or bad?


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 01 November 2012 - 13:59

You mean RAID1? RAID0 has no fault tolerance.


#17 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 01 November 2012 - 15:25

whys that?


Too many reads/writes on the drive could stress it and some drives don't use trim properly when they are in RAID 0. There are some companies like Intel that support it but it requires a series 7 mobo. See here: http://www.techspot....d-required.html

#18 +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 03 November 2012 - 00:28

I have thought about doing this aswell for some client servers, 2xSSD's in RAID1 for the OS with 2x1TB Drives in RAID1 for the data.

I would be interested if anyone else has done this?

The only thing thats stopping me is when an SSD fails... its gone. But if a hard drive fails, it could be recoverable. Saying that though if you have regular backups this shouldnt be a problem! Just inconvenient.

#19 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 03 November 2012 - 00:57

In RAID1, it copies the same data to both drives. So, regardless of SSD or HDD, you still are mirroring the data.

#20 +McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 03 November 2012 - 03:42

Raid 0 is never, ever, ever a good idea.

#21 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 06 November 2012 - 17:06

Chconline's number's disagree. ;)

#22 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 06 November 2012 - 17:13

I've been running two 64GB SSD's in RAID0 for about a year and a half, never had any issues and no performance degradation. I did synthetic and real-world benchmarks on the seperate drives and it's just way faster in RAID0. Nothing wrong with it (aside the fact that you seriously increase your failure rate, but that's not a problem for my personal laptop).

The fact that TRIM doesn't work isn't that big a deal at all. As long as your drive has decent garbage collection the advantages of TRIM aren't that high - not even remotely close to the performance gain from RAID0.

(Why did I start running in RAID0? It's the default config of my laptop. The Sony Vaio Z series always has either a 2x64GB, a 2x128GB, 4x64GB or 4x128GB RAID0 setup. Those 4x-RAID0's are blazing fast!)

#23 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 06 November 2012 - 17:15

Raid 0 is never, ever, ever a good idea.

Unless it's RAID 1+0 :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!