Jump to content



Photo

A final good bye to Windows

win8 win7

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
133 replies to this topic

#16 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:11

Hmm...maybe it's you. Sneak into my system lately? /s Anyways, with Steam coming to Linux, I will do fine.


Steam, and Source, and probably not much else.

Outside of antiquated hardware, I've never run into a situation where something would run on Linux and not run on Windows.


#17 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:12

I wish you luck. I always say run what suits you best. However, I have a Toshiba laptop that I've had for a couple of years now and I started with Windows 7 and I've moved to Windows 8 and I've never had a moment worth of problems. It has to be something to do with your configuration.


Hmm..or maybe I'm a pirate and my ship has sailed, then sunk as ACTIONpack suggested. Jesus, where do these freaks come from?

#18 billyea

billyea

    Your Two Cents

  • Joined: 15-July 06
  • Location: Noitacol

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:12

It's not Windows.
It's certainly not you.
It's your hardware.

And if there's one thing that Linux will fumble the ball with more often than Windows, it's hardware.
Just something to consider.

#19 Scorbing

Scorbing

    Halo Master

  • Joined: 02-December 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Win 7 Pro, OSX 10.8, Ubuntu 12.10
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 2

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:14

dude you must be joking right? I have Windows 7 on my gaming rig, Windows 8 on my laptop and I have absolutely zero antivirus, antispyware, none of that garbage and I have yet to see a virus - but of course, I use common sense (no porn sites, no poker/game sites, etc)

I have never had Windows give me any of the errors and horror stories you are describing so there must be something seriously with your Windows setup or your rig.

#20 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:14

^He already said Fedora works fine on his system so I guess that won't be a problem :)

Well, choice is always good, buddy. Something that seems to be not tolerated here :p
But I'm with the guys that says it's not Windows simply because it's not really a common case.

#21 LAMj

LAMj

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-December 08

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:16

I guess this is goodbye...


Posted Image

#22 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:18

What in the sweet name of the good Planet Earth have you been doing to your computer that has necessitated such actions? Can you be specific, and not just rant. And don't provide no details but then complain that others will 'bash' you for it being your fault. Truth is, there must be something specifically unique about your hardware configuration, software installations, or other factors that has required you to take such drastic actions numerous times in a short span of time. Give us some details bro. Then, you'll not have to worry about any bashing.



What kind of issues exactly? You visit 3 websites only pretty much, and it appears basically use your computer for games. What else are you doing with the PC that could be creating such issues? Are you disabling services, or making other 'performance tweaks' that could be causing issues?



Bro, that's not the fault of your OS. You shouldn't spend money simply based on the opinions of persons you don't really know.

Having said all that, I think if you like Fedora or some other Linux distro, more power to you! I like Linux, and if I had a spare PC that my wife didn't need to use, I'd probably run some Linux flavor on it.


I have given so many details in several posts for help here at Neowin. But people always tell me something is bad or going bad. As for disabling services or performance tweaks, I only disable print spooler, because I don't have a printer. Performance tweaks, I wouldn't know how. I tried before under Win7 and borked my registry. So I stay far away. There is nothing else I do. I play my games.

It's not Windows.
It's certainly not you.
It's your hardware.

And if there's one thing that Linux will fumble the ball with more often than Windows, it's hardware.
Just something to consider.


I have 0 issues under Fedora.

#23 +d5aqoëp

d5aqoëp

    Banned

  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:24

I am going to give the dreaded advice.

Get a Mac.

#24 Mr. Dee

Mr. Dee

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-April 03
  • Location: Caribbean
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro, Windows 7 Professional, Windows XP Professional

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:26

Strange, I have an HP Z210 which came pre-installed with Windows 7 Professional 64 bit last year, I have never done anything to the OS except for installing updates. I use it for a lot of things, Office productivity, web, virtual machines (a lot of them by the way), dual boot and I have had this since August 2011. No problems. so obviously something you are doing that is not right.

#25 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:28

Perhaps the company isn't as reputable as you think? :/ I know you've made your decision, so I won't try to convince you to change your mind; however, as Windows works totally fine for most of us, surely that does mean that it isn't Windows that's the problem.


I've gotten all my systems from them in the past. Never any issues. Everyone keeps saying it's my configuration. How could that be?

My systems specs:
AMD Phenom II 970 BE
Mushkin 1600 DDR3 16gigs
Asus M5A97 mobo
nVidia GeForce GTX 560ti
ThermalTake TR-800

How can the config be wrong?

#26 COKid

COKid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-April 10
  • Location: Loveland, CO

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:29

Freedom of choice is a wonderful thing. I've loving Windows 8. ;)

#27 Piggy

Piggy

    Super Slut!

  • Joined: 12-April 03
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:35

I am going to give the dreaded advice.

Get a Mac.


Yep. Perfect candidate for a Mac, and steam works on it!

#28 OP Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:36

I really don't want to stop using Win8. But for some reason, I just can't keep it stable enough to run.

Yep. Perfect candidate for a Mac, and steam works on it!


Now you guys are just being mean. Take the Mac and well, use it to wipe your backsides.

#29 freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:41

I really don't want to stop using Win8. But for some reason, I just can't keep it stable enough to run.



Now you guys are just being mean. Take the Mac and well, use it to wipe your backsides.

wow ...they are just giving you advice. No need to act like a fool. Simply your configuration just sucks. Pathetic if you're struggling to even keep an windows os stable..Better off with a 99$ tablet. Nonetheless good luck!

#30 -Razorfold

-Razorfold

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900 / Oneplus One

Posted 30 October 2012 - 01:43

In the last few years, I have done everything to keep my systems stable and safe. But no matter how hard I try, Windows just cannot be kept stable/safe. Lately, it has just gotten worse. Sure Windows is great for games. No denying that. But with the issues I've been running into lately, it just isn't worth it anymore.


Yeah it's just you. Since Vista I've had 0 viruses, trojans etc etc. The amount of blue screens I've gotten since then are minuscule too, and the vast majority of them were from nVidia on Vista (yay for terrible drivers).

Yes I work super hard making sure my Windows installation works fine, oh wait no I don't. I install / upgrade Windows and then put MSE on it.