Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#16 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 02 November 2012 - 05:05

I have done this successfully in the past. It doesn't require conversion. You need to change the partition type ID (cannot remember what it is from the top of my head) to NTFS (which I am assuming that you are using. I believe the ID for NTFS is 07.

I have had success in doing this using CFDISK and FDISK on SystemRescueCD.

Yes I followed a guide changing 42 to 07 although the picture and the actual looked a bit different. So here I am looking to reinstall windows cause it won't boot due to some blue screeen that flashes. I wanted to install Win8 dual booted with Win7. Dynamic disk preventing me from this and no software to convert. So at least I'm getting all my data back and will reformat reinstall following. I'll leave off the HP Ware as much as possible.
I managed to copy over some really important files so far, just waiting on the larger save. Most of it I probably won't need but we'll see.

Do you think you suggestion will fix what I discribed? so I don't have to reinstall?


#17 marshallz

marshallz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-January 12

Posted 02 November 2012 - 05:24

What utility were you using to change the ID type? Ideally, FDISK under linux appears to be the *safest* option IMO. Changing the partition ID doesn't alter the contents of the HDD, or the MFT. If you are receiving a BSOD as a result of changing the ID I would be inclined to think there is something else more to it.

When backing up client data in the past with dynamic volumes, changing the ID has always allowed me to backup the volume as well as continue to use the OS as normal if left set. I cannot think of any other varying factors that may be causing it to BSOD.

#18 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 02 November 2012 - 05:34

Yeah I'm not sure. Just I know I changed that value and rebooted like the instructions said to find it not boot. I don't have much options at this point. Data is still being copied over however slowly. Got a few hours til it's done. If anyone suggests something that may fix it I'm open. But beyond that I'm looking to reformat/reinstall. oh well.

#19 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 02 November 2012 - 06:51

Well I'll look at what options were provided so far before I start to reinstall. I don't want to due to the software I will lose in this will have to repurchase. Unless MS cuts me more slack.

#20 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 02 November 2012 - 15:08

What about portable imaging software? Anyone know of free that can imagine from bootbable CD?

#21 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 02 November 2012 - 16:39

Yes I followed a guide changing 42 to 07 although the picture and the actual looked a bit different. So here I am looking to reinstall windows cause it won't boot due to some blue screeen that flashes. I wanted to install Win8 dual booted with Win7. Dynamic disk preventing me from this and no software to convert. So at least I'm getting all my data back and will reformat reinstall following. I'll leave off the HP Ware as much as possible.
I managed to copy over some really important files so far, just waiting on the larger save. Most of it I probably won't need but we'll see.

Do you think you suggestion will fix what I discribed? so I don't have to reinstall?

You can use Testdisk off some Linux LiveCDs to at least get your install back to working. Bleh. :/

#22 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 03 November 2012 - 07:38

Testdisk looks complicated to me. I'd like to use it. Really would to restore the partition.



#23 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:32

Think I've found a solution. USB bootable Win7 install. I'm currently working on setting that up. Once it's done I can boot to it and install a program to fix the invalid disk and then use a imaging program to clone the partition once it's up. Then put the clone on this laptop with my good old Win8. Problem solved.

If it doesn't work like that, then I got MS tech in the morning which could help. Otherwise reformat/reinstall after making sure I've saved the data I want off of both laptops. :(

Currently my win8 install is doing me good at least.

#24 OP *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 05 November 2012 - 23:29

Ok, so nothing I've tried worked to fix either of my situations. It came down to a clean install on both. Currenlty working that issue.

I will note that I used GPARTED to handle the invalid disk issue. deleting the partitions and formatting.

#25 wo1122

wo1122

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-July 12

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:26

After google I find a professional disk converter, it is only a conversion tool to convert dynamic disk to basic disk, see this link: http://www.dynamic-disk-converter.com/

#26 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:54

Wait... You did this without a backup?