Jump to content



Photo

antivirus for windows 8 ?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 (Spork)

(Spork)

    ANDROID-APPLE

  • Joined: 20-August 07

Posted 04 November 2012 - 13:57

whats compatible ? been looking with little to no luck


#2 ScorpioRGc1

ScorpioRGc1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 08
  • Location: Greenville, NC, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:00

Windows 8 comes packaged with Windows Security Essentials, which is very good. If you're looking for something else, I can confirm the latest version of Avast works fine.

#3 Aethec

Aethec

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-May 10

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:01

MSE is included (renamed to Windows Defender).

#4 OP (Spork)

(Spork)

    ANDROID-APPLE

  • Joined: 20-August 07

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:05

thanks all

#5 Scorbing

Scorbing

    Halo Master

  • Joined: 02-December 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro, Ubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:07

whats compatible ? been looking with little to no luck


You don't need any. Like Scorpio RGc1 said, it already comes with Windows Defender (MSE) built-in. There is not need to install extra AV garbage on it that will likely slow it down to a drag. You already have all the protection you need. Stay away from porn, poker sites, stupid ads offering you free iPads and use common sense along with Windows Defender and you will be just fine.

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:10

I use ESET NOD32, works fine in 8

#7 TrekRich

TrekRich

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: England

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:13

But its a free iPad :woot:

You don't need any. Like Scorpio RGc1 said, it already comes with Windows Defender (MSE) built-in. There is not need to install extra AV garbage on it that will likely slow it down to a drag. You already have all the protection you need. Stay away from porn, poker sites, stupid ads offering you free iPads and use common sense along with Windows Defender and you will be just fine.



#8 Colin McGregor

Colin McGregor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-September 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 x64, Gentoo x64 Sometimes
  • Phone: Samsung Ativ S WP8

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:15

You don't need any. Like Scorpio RGc1 said, it already comes with Windows Defender (MSE) built-in. There is not need to install extra AV garbage on it that will likely slow it down to a drag. You already have all the protection you need. Stay away from porn, poker sites, stupid ads offering you free iPads and use common sense along with Windows Defender and you will be just fine.


stay away from porn?? BLASPHEMY.

Just don't be stupid and you won't get a virus.

#9 leo_the_lion

leo_the_lion

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 07

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:19

Comcast gives you Norton 360 - free - and the updated 2013 version is now available to all their customers. And it is Windows 8 compatible..............now waits for the ill informed 'norton haters' to enter the thread and to start trashing what is now an excellent piece of essential software.

#10 TrekRich

TrekRich

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: England

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:21

Norton aint bad for your mum or granny!

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:21

Comcast gives you Norton 360 - free - and the updated 2013 version is now available to all their customers. And it is Windows 8 compatible..............now waits for the ill informed 'norton haters' to enter the thread and to start trashing what is now an excellent piece of essential software.


Norton? Booooo :p

#12 OP (Spork)

(Spork)

    ANDROID-APPLE

  • Joined: 20-August 07

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:21

Comcast gives you Norton 360 - free - and the updated 2013 version is now available to all their customers. And it is Windows 8 compatible..............now waits for the ill informed 'norton haters' to enter the thread and to start trashing what is now an excellent piece of essential software.



nice but im not a comcast user :/

#13 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:42

Comcast gives you Norton 360 - free - and the updated 2013 version is now available to all their customers. And it is Windows 8 compatible..............now waits for the ill informed 'norton haters' to enter the thread and to start trashing what is now an excellent piece of essential software.

I work at an IT department and we have a WPA2 enterprise network on our campus. Student brought in a brand new Samsung laptop that had the 30 day Norton trial bloatware garbage pre-installed on the system, as it couldn't connect to our wifi. Tried a dozen different things to get it on, what finally worked was uninstalling Norton and putting MSE on instead.

Aside from this isolated incident (which happens a lot, I might add, with both Norton and McAfee), Norton products are trash, and I would never let that bloated decaying corpse of software near any computer I use.

#14 kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 04 November 2012 - 14:57

Kaspersky's 2013 lineup is also Windows 8 compatible

#15 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 04 November 2012 - 15:37

So is Panda Cloud AV.

Using it now.