Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 + WIFI = can't see all of them networks

win8

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 07 November 2012 - 18:29

Hello all,
i have two laptops with Windows 8; both of them have a strange wifi issue: i can see several wifi networks in this building I'm on except the the one i want to connect :rofl:; the access point is less then a 2 meters from me, both laptops have different network cards (different brands) and there's more 5 laptops (different brands) near me that can see that wifi network. Also this just happens in Windows 8; both of those laptops also have Windows 7 (dual boot) and both of them can see and connect to that network in Windows 7 :o so i just sorted out that must be a specific Windows 8 problem; both laptops have the latest drivers as well (where applicable).

so... has anyone ever had this happening?


#2 Andrei Rusu

Andrei Rusu

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 05
  • Location: Cluj Napoca
  • OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

Posted 07 November 2012 - 18:43

Check for latest drivers. If the network is 802.11n and the card doesn't speak it, it might not be visible.

Or try to connect manually from Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center -> Set up a new connection or network. You can get all the data you need from the other laptop.

#3 OP Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 07 November 2012 - 18:43

both network cards have the latest drivers like i said; also the network is 802.11g.

#4 Andrei Rusu

Andrei Rusu

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-June 05
  • Location: Cluj Napoca
  • OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

Posted 07 November 2012 - 18:51

Try connecting manually, see if it works.

#5 OP Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 07 November 2012 - 18:55

Try connecting manually, see if it works.


done that, still no go. :shiftyninja: