Jump to content



Photo

Anyone with a HP Microserver?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#16 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 09 November 2012 - 13:10

I could not be happier with it.. Freaking thing uses like no power at all! Currently drawing 54.7 watts. That is with all those Vms running and 4 HDD in the thing. I get 70 to 90MBps when writing files to and from the NAS.

Tiny little box - takes up no room. And you could not beat the price. People in the UK had a mucher better deal on them, I know loads got them for like 100 quid.

Looking for a cheap dual port nic -- would like to have that option, and maybe move to 16GB -- if wife wouldn't kill me, I would prob by another one just to have ability to move Vms between hosts ;)


#17 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 09 November 2012 - 13:38

I could not be happier with it.. Freaking thing uses like no power at all! Currently drawing 54.7 watts. That is with all those Vms running and 4 HDD in the thing. I get 70 to 90MBps when writing files to and from the NAS.

Tiny little box - takes up no room. And you could not beat the price. People in the UK had a mucher better deal on them, I know loads got them for like 100 quid.

Looking for a cheap dual port nic -- would like to have that option, and maybe move to 16GB -- if wife wouldn't kill me, I would prob by another one just to have ability to move Vms between hosts ;)


Mine cost £212 - and then I get the £100 cashback, so it'll work out at £112.

My current plan if I go with ESXi is to have the OS and VMs on the 250GB drives that come with it, and then add the other 4 hard drives with my stuff on them (I'm just pulling them from USB caddies :p). I was tempted to get a smallish SSD as the boot/vm drive, but that takes it to being beyond a budget server IMO.

I've also got a second PCI-e NIC for it - it was like £7 (bought it specifically for hackintosh compatibility just in case :p), but I guess it means I'm not using the onboard LAN (never liked using them for some reason), and I have a spare port :p.

#18 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 09 November 2012 - 13:49

ESXi supports up to 10.7 'officially'. I've got 10.8 working fine though but to use the serial number from my mac (so imessages and icloud works) I've made my own chameleon boot CD, on ESXi 5.0 it was a bit annoying, to boot from a non-EFI CD you had to put a custom EFI bios file in and edit the VM to use it using vi and disable it from using EFI again using vi which was a trick for ESXi and it'd all work fine although on powerup the VM would freeze and you'd get a message asking if you want to release the CD lock or not, you have to manually click cancel or chameleon just errors and this happens on every boot/reboot so it's a bit of a pain but the VM runs perfectly fine and smooth whilst using it from within vSphere client....
I upgraded to 5.1 (didn't need to unpatch/repatch the mac osx thing which I forgot to do which I guess was a bit dump but maybe the files weren't modified from 5.0 -> 5.1?) and it's completely changed, doing the above trick no longer work, it'll boot the CD but the CD will be unable to see the GPT hard drive at all any more, so I had to change the OS from mac osx to 'other 64 bit' and run it as BIOS not EFI, so it boots now without the 'CD ROM locked' message but on the vSphere client, mac runs much slower, the Y of the mouse is inverted so if you move your mouse left-down it actually move left-up, but again it picks up my mac serial fine and iMessage/iCloud works fine. As I don't use the vSphere client to use it, it's no bother to me (I've got remote usage on and just VNC in, everything works fine when doing this).

Hope that helps! :p

#19 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 09 November 2012 - 13:57

I have had no issues with the onboard lan - I needed the other nic so I could isolate wan from lan so vm could be my physical networks router.

I am looking to get a dual nic so that I could break out vswitch for the admin of esxi, or whatever other uses I might find for being able to connect vswitch to different network segment, etc..

I got mine for like $279 with extra ram, extra nic and a 2TB drive to bumpup my storage for nas it was something a bit over $400 i think. Would have to break out the invoices.

#20 richardsim7

richardsim7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-January 05
  • Location: London - UK

Posted 10 November 2012 - 21:06

Turns out I have the N36L. Got it for about £250 with £100 cashback.

Just found this http://www.ebuyer.co...3d1609ds1s00ceu
Should make a nice upgrade from the 1GB installed RAM :)