Jump to content



Photo

Can't adjust to windows 8

win8

  • Please log in to reply
174 replies to this topic

#76 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 12 November 2012 - 16:42

My 56 year old, computer illiterate, father has gotten used to Windows 8 just fine... And we use Windows 2003 at work..


Erm....


#77 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 12 November 2012 - 16:47

You could try a couple of things:
1. Install Windows Live Mail on your desktop (I use it for my default email program), then you will not have that above problem. Also, it will sync with your Mail app seamlessly.
2. Or go to "Default Programs" and choose "Mail" app as your default program, and click "set this program as default" then clock "OK." This might work, but I am not sure.


1. I don't want to install Live Mail and don't want to use it. Ever. I want to use the metro one.
2. That was the first thing i tried (the error msg suggest you to do so) but that didn't changed anything.

#78 psreloaded

psreloaded

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 09
  • Location: India

Posted 12 November 2012 - 16:48

Is there a free start menu out there? all tough I don't like the idea installing a 3rd party app just for that.
Just to make things clear, I'm not bashing windows 8 (yet)
Just wanted to know if i'm the only one feeling that those tiles are pure hype and will die sometime soon on pcs.
Why would i want to open something full screen (unless its a movie \ picture\ game) when i'm on my computer. I don't get it.


The metro part is aimed at tablets... So you are definitely not alone... Install a start menu replacement and you should be good to go... except for things where you have no choice since some pc settings are only available on metro... and removed from the control panel...

#79 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:05

Even though they have a new start screen, I still don't see the reason why they had to remove / Hide the "Start Button", that's just stupid. Unless you are on a tablet, and then it makes total sense..........I see what I did there!


Not sure what you mean, it's on the Charms Bar.

#80 Aletheia

Aletheia

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-June 09

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:13

1. I don't want to install Live Mail and don't want to use it. Ever. I want to use the metro one.
2. That was the first thing i tried (the error msg suggest you to do so) but that didn't changed anything.


I see. Hmmmm... Let me try something else...

#81 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:32

Erm....


Windows 2003 was a real thing, if that's what you're confused about. :laugh:

#82 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:37

Not sure what you mean, it's on the Charms Bar.


Which is also hidden.

#83 yardmanflex

yardmanflex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-October 03
  • Location: Bronx, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:45

I've been using it for a week now and I still feel pretty much lost.
I miss the start menu! All I did there is used the search and click My Computer but I keep going to the corner of the screen searching for it.
Metro is ..idk, not for me. Why the apps takes a few seconds to load? Sure, every application we use takes a few seconds to load but with metro the stupid splash screen stops me from doing any thing else. It's like metro takes me to a completely other place in windows with its full screen etc' and i don't like it. Makes me feel disconnected.

How much time it took you to adjust to windows 8?


Dude if it's so hard for you to adjust to win8 then go back to win7 LOL

#84 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 November 2012 - 17:58

Which is also hidden.


Why is that a problem? It isn't long before it's uncovered... you know, by moving the mouse.

#85 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:02

Embracing change can be a good thing. A lot of people fail to realize though that embracing change for the sake of change is generally a bad idea. This is one of those times where it's bad.

#86 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:05

Embracing change can be a good thing. A lot of people fail to realize though that embracing change for the sake of change is generally a bad idea. This is one of those times where it's bad.


Thank you for this very specific example of how change is bad. :rofl:

There's very little "change" in Windows 8. It's a reorganization or some elements, and if you use more than one OS, it shouldn't really appear all that different.

#87 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:11

You know those Windows 8 tutorials with their instructions: "click or tap the picture above"
Why are you talking with me about taping? I'm on a pc! That annoys me.
You'd expect Microsoft to implement
If (machine==pc) then tap=NO;


#88 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:16

You know those Windows 8 tutorials with their instructions: "click or tap the picture above"
Why are you talking with me about taping? I'm on a pc! That annoys me.
You'd expect Microsoft to implement

If (machine==pc) then tap=NO;


There are PCs with touchscreens.

#89 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:18

sorry.

If (machine==pcWithNoTouchScreenWhatSoEver) then tap=NO;

:)

#90 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 18:24

Embracing change can be a good thing. A lot of people fail to realize though that embracing change for the sake of change is generally a bad idea. This is one of those times where it's bad.


I keep hearing that argument myself, and I still laugh at it. I adapted to the changes made with Vista, I adapted to (and love) the superbar