Jump to content



Photo

Now You Can Try ChromeOS Without Buying a ChromeBook

chrome chromeos chromium chromiumos google linux ubuntu

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 11 November 2012 - 18:11

Just noticed this on OMGUbuntu. I just found it and thought I'd share, so I really don't know any of the details except the end result is that you can install ChromeOS in Ubuntu so you can try it out. Not sure if there's a Windows or Mac version of this out yet.

Linkage: http://www.omgubuntu...omeos-in-ubuntu


#2 DJGM

DJGM

    Mancunian

  • Joined: 05-June 02

Posted 11 November 2012 - 18:17

Can I assume this should also work on Linux Mint which is somewhat based/built upon Ubuntu?

#3 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 11 November 2012 - 18:36

Can I assume this should also work on Linux Mint which is somewhat based/built upon Ubuntu?

Should do, grab the .deb file from the page and install it :)

#4 DJGM

DJGM

    Mancunian

  • Joined: 05-June 02

Posted 11 November 2012 - 20:19

Just downloaded it ... is the .deb really meant to be only 4KB? I assume it contains a script that prompts the full download.

#5 OP Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 12 November 2012 - 00:49

Just downloaded it ... is the .deb really meant to be only 4KB? I assume it contains a script that prompts the full download.


Not sure, I haven't tried it out yet. It obviously loses the advantage of being a trimmed down, web-centric OS, because it's running on top of Ubuntu, but if your goal is just to tinker with it, develop for it, or try before you buy, this seems kind of cool.

#6 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:01

Wouldn't this be easier? http://chromeos.hexxeh.net/

#7 OP Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:05

Wouldn't this be easier? http://chromeos.hexxeh.net/


That's awesome, he even has VirtualBox machines for download. Every time I'd looked for a Chrome OS download in the past all I found was "Buy a ChromeBook!". I guess it just took a bit for it to get out into the community.

#8 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:06

Another way:
You can use Parallels (VM software for Mac OS X) to run it.
They even have an option to automatically download it and install it for you in one procedure.
No need to grab links. :)
(not sure whether they have the most current version yet)

^same for Android even. (not ICS/Jelly Bean though afaik)

Glassed Silver:mac

#9 DerkPY

DerkPY

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-April 02

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:27

For a second I thought about trying to install this on Raspbian but noticed its only for 64-bit Ubuntu.

#10 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 12 November 2012 - 01:57

+1 for hexxeh builds. Been using them for awhile. Since the release before lime.

#11 DJGM

DJGM

    Mancunian

  • Joined: 05-June 02

Posted 12 November 2012 - 02:38

Wouldn't this be easier? http://chromeos.hexxeh.net/


I tried that ... it won't connect to my network via WiFi or Ethernet. Attempting to connect it to WiFi, it prompts me
for my WPK security key, but gives no actual options to configure the connection. It just gives up with an error:

Chromium OS was unable to connect to Kitamura.
Please select another network or try again.


This particular OS is pretty much useless without a live network connection, so I'm unable to use it at home.

#12 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 November 2012 - 23:49

Wouldn't this be easier? http://chromeos.hexxeh.net/


Much. I've downloaded it a couple of times and played with it.

#13 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 23:53

Wouldn't this be easier? http://chromeos.hexxeh.net/


The only bad thing about this is that there isn't a live ISO provided, and it's tricky to get it to actually install. I tried writing the image to a Sandisk U3 USB drive and it wouldn't work.

#14 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 November 2012 - 23:54

The only bad thing about this is that there isn't a live ISO provided, and it's tricky to get it to actually install. I tried writing the image to a Sandisk U3 USB drive and it wouldn't work.


Have you tried the Virtualbox version?

#15 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 23:55

Yes, the virtualbox version did work, but I want something I can use on real hardware.