Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#16 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 13 November 2012 - 20:37

104.3MB of updates on my Surface. Firmware updated was tiny, only 400KB.


#17 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 13 November 2012 - 20:48

I only got a single Logitech driver update on Windows 7 :p

#18 OP spudtrooper

spudtrooper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 920

Posted 13 November 2012 - 21:22

Surface definitely got some performance improvements with app launching! hope MS keeps these updates rolling!

#19 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 13 November 2012 - 21:41

Anyone notice anything different with the Surface update? Seems a bit zippier but it could be my imagination/wishful thinking

#20 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 13 November 2012 - 21:47

13 Windows 7 updates for me, but then I did install VS 2012 earlier.

#21 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 13 November 2012 - 21:48

Anyone notice anything different with the Surface update? Seems a bit zippier but it could be my imagination/wishful thinking

I was shocked at how fast the desktop comes up now...or i that could be my imagination too lol

#22 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:43

Got 15 updates here. Sigh. Time to get to work.

#23 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:28

9 updates, 337Mb on my laptop.

And it's working like it was before, nothing seems to be improved.

#24 Kyang

Kyang

  • Joined: 23-November 07

Posted 14 November 2012 - 15:42

I'm not sure if it's due to an application I used, or this update, so I'm asking here. (The application was "OblyTile".)

My IE icon on the Start screen is now the metro one, all the time. Previously, the icon would change between the desktop and metro versions depending on whether or not IE was the default browser.

Now, Nightly is my default browser, but the IE icon is still the metro version.

I'm not complaining about this, just curious if something in this batch of patches is the cause.

#25 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 14 November 2012 - 15:47

I only got a single Logitech driver update on Windows 7 :p


You should have received a lot more then that, are you sure they didn't auto apply last night? Check your Update History.

#26 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 14 November 2012 - 19:49

You should have received a lot more then that, are you sure they didn't auto apply last night? Check your Update History.


Ah, after installing that and restarting, it found 16 important and 1 optional (Bing Desktop, bleurgh). So yeah, all is well.

#27 nekrosoft13

nekrosoft13

    NeKroSoft inc.

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: IL
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 14 November 2012 - 21:31

one of the bigger updates (130-150mb)

http://support.micro....com/kb/2769165

haha, they f-ed up the digital signatures on files, some were missing, some incorrect.

#28 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 14 November 2012 - 22:26

I'm not sure if it's due to an application I used, or this update, so I'm asking here. (The application was "OblyTile".)

My IE icon on the Start screen is now the metro one, all the time. Previously, the icon would change between the desktop and metro versions depending on whether or not IE was the default browser.

Now, Nightly is my default browser, but the IE icon is still the metro version.

I'm not complaining about this, just curious if something in this batch of patches is the cause.


No, it's been there even before the update. I've asked the OblyTile author about this and he has no solution other than creating a new IE shortcut.

#29 xdot.tk

xdot.tk

  • Joined: 29-May 09

Posted 14 November 2012 - 23:43

Windows XP - 2 updates - 1.9MB :p

#30 Asrokhel

Asrokhel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-April 12
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64 (testing to see if I keep it or go back to Windows 7)

Posted 14 November 2012 - 23:47

9 updates, 337Mb on my laptop.

And it's working like it was before, nothing seems to be improved.


Same with my desktop.