Jump to content



Photo

$DESKTOP_SESSION


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 21 November 2012 - 14:40

Hey Guys i need as many of these as i can

I need to know what $DESKTOP_SESSION shows in the following DE's

LXDE
XFCE
Cinnamon
KDE
Gnome 2
Gnome 3


and any others you could provide

can you paste what yours says and also what DE ur on :)


#2 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 25 November 2012 - 17:40

[karl@HERA ~]$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION
xfce
[karl@HERA ~]$

Arch x64 running XFCE 4.10

#3 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 November 2012 - 17:46

david@david-ubuntu:~$ echo $DESKTOP_SESSION
cinnamon
 

Ubuntu 12.10 Cinnamon :)

#4 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:12

$ uname -a
Linux azrael 3.6.7-4.fc17.i686.PAE #1 SMP Tue Nov 20 20:07:38 UTC 2012 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
$ gnome-session --version
gnome-session 3.4.2
$ printf "%s\n" $DESKTOP_SESSION
gnome

#5 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:18

can u guys also do

cat /etc/*-release


#6 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:20


Arch Linux release

LSB_VERSION=1.4

DISTRIB_ID=arch

DISTRIB_RELEASE=rolling

DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Arch Linux"

NAME="Arch Linux"

ID=arch

PRETTY_NAME="Arch Linux"

ANSI_COLOR="0;36"

HOME_URL="https://www.archlinux.org/"

SUPPORT_URL="https://bbs.archlinux.org/"

BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.archlinux.org/"



#7 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:22

lol why does arch need to be different from everyone else

#8 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:27

NAME="Arch Linux"
ID=arch
PRETTY_NAME="Arch Linux"
ANSI_COLOR="0;36"
HOME_URL="https://www.archlinux.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="https://bbs.archlinux.org/"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.archlinux.org/"

:p

#9 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:31

$ cat /etc/*-release
Fedora release 17 (Beefy Miracle)
NAME=Fedora
VERSION="17 (Beefy Miracle)"
ID=fedora
VERSION_ID=17
PRETTY_NAME="Fedora 17 (Beefy Miracle)"
ANSI_COLOR="0;34"
CPE_NAME="cpe:/o:fedoraproject:fedora:17"
Fedora release 17 (Beefy Miracle)
Fedora release 17 (Beefy Miracle)

#10 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:31

suppose could search for name first then do the normal for other distros

#11 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:34

what are you trying to do?

#12 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:37

i am making a little system script thats give system info and takes a screenshot

on every other release so far the last line in "cat /etc/*-release" is the distro name

all but Arch lol

#13 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:41

I wouldn't rely on the last line being the OS name, I'd read it like an INI and get it from NAME="". There's no reason why the last line will be the OS name :)

#14 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:43

ok whats best way to pull that?

#15 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 November 2012 - 18:48

In bash? No idea :p



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!