Jump to content



Photo

Mozilla quietly ceases Firefox 64-bit development

firefox

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#16 Sub_Zero_Alchemist

Sub_Zero_Alchemist

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 05
  • Location: California, USA
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 22 November 2012 - 21:55

XP was the first 64-bit OS
Grow up


I'm not talking about what was the first 64 bit, i was talking about making it only 64 bit. Why do i need to grow up? because im trying to
have an opinion. Im done dealing with you, since your going to act like a *bleep* about it.


#17 Gladiatorus

Gladiatorus

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 09
  • Location: This Universe

Posted 22 November 2012 - 22:11

Long live WaterFox.

Stupid Mozilla!

#18 dysgenics

dysgenics

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 23 November 2012 - 00:39

switch to 64bit, plugins will follow. they can't see that?

#19 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 23 November 2012 - 00:42

How about a no, no offense, 32 bits is not going anywhere soon until MS makes a 64 bits only OS.


Server 2012. I use it and love it.

#20 ensiform

ensiform

    "I AM SUCH A BA!"

  • Joined: 14-July 06

Posted 23 November 2012 - 00:57

You shouldn't even be on 32-bit only OS anyway at this point. Unless your CPU is 2000 or older :?

#21 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 05:44

Poor Mozilla. No wonder Chrome has left them in the dust.

#22 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 23 November 2012 - 05:52

lol turns out it wasn't quite as quietly as they hoped...

#23 Sub_Zero_Alchemist

Sub_Zero_Alchemist

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 05
  • Location: California, USA
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:13

Poor Mozilla. No wonder Chrome has left them in the dust.


You might as well say poor chrome as well,still no sign of chrome's 64 bit browser like they promised to release. The only ones that do have a 64 bit browser
is IE and Opera.

#24 The King of GnG

The King of GnG

    Knight and King of the Great Hell Village

  • Joined: 06-February 12
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows
  • Phone: Windows Phone

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:42

So, Mozilla coders can integrate a Social API in their browser but cannot code a 64-bit version of Firefox? Uhm....

#25 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 23 November 2012 - 22:40

You might as well say poor chrome as well,still no sign of chrome's 64 bit browser like they promised to release. The only ones that do have a 64 bit browser
is IE and Opera.

that's what you think http://www.neowin.ne...t__p__595320566

#26 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 23 November 2012 - 22:58

Why exactly does your browser have to be 64bit? Windows is perfectly capable of running 32bit applications without performance loss and a browser isn't something that benefits from being 64bit in any way. There is absolutely no point to a 64bit version of Firefox so it's pretty obvious they're dumping it.

#27 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 24 November 2012 - 03:45

lol turns out it wasn't quite as quietly as they hoped...


That's what I was thinking. :D

#28 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 24 November 2012 - 05:20

Why exactly does your browser have to be 64bit? Windows is perfectly capable of running 32bit applications without performance loss and a browser isn't something that benefits from being 64bit in any way. There is absolutely no point to a 64bit version of Firefox so it's pretty obvious they're dumping it.

Because the only way to judge how good a browser is, is by knowing that length pointers it operates on.

That's why IE and Opera are the best browsers and Firefox/Chrome are irrelevant.

#29 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 24 November 2012 - 05:24

Are you kidding? That is ridiculous. Imagine is any of the big OS makers came out and shunned support of 64 in favour of 32.

#30 batman_is_mad

batman_is_mad

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 25-November 12

Posted 25 November 2012 - 15:26

Hell I knew Mozilla would can the Win64 we would of had it by now as with IE and Opera now offering 64 bit versions and I am pretty sure Windows will eliminate their 32 bit OS's leaving Mozilla out in the cold and they already have in their server OS's. But no worries, there are damned good 64 bit Firefox variants that let me tell you WORK with most extentions and addons. I have been using Waterfox a 64 bit variant and it blows the doors off of Mozilla's 32 bit Windows release. This browser is stable and most of Mozilla's 64 bit developers are flocking to the Waterfox Project.

http://www.waterfoxproject.org/

This is arguable why Mozilla canceled the browser's development since Waterfox developers were far more advanced in producing a browser that supports the extensions and addons. Kudos to the Waterfox Project! Mozilla since it is open source opted to allow third parties to further develop the 64 bit browser as a variant.