Jump to content



Photo

Alexa ranks Neowin as "very slow".

suggestion

  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#61 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:01

IPB is not fast and we can't do much about it.


Your screenshot shows that the home page is slow. One second load when everything is fetched from the cache.

Also, IPB has got support for APC, Memcached and other systems. Do you have that set up? Realpath caching? Query caching?


#62 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:28

I tried bbc.co.uk, cnn.com and theverge.com and news.google.com and they are all as fast or slower than our main page. These sites are all considered slow according to Alexa

We use memcached and query caching

Our forum page takes at least twice as long to load as our main page

#63 TheDogsBed

TheDogsBed

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 03
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:45

There is no doubt that over the last few weeks this site has become much slower. I'm glad it's been raised actually as I was starting to think it must be my connection, even though other sites seemed to be loading at their usual speeds.

#64 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 13:11

We've trimmed another 200kb off the main page. Forums will not be touched tho :p /me runs away

#65 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 23 November 2012 - 13:21

Forums will not be touched tho :p /me runs away


:angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

#66 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 23 November 2012 - 13:39

JQuery is what is godawful for me. Often, posts take forever to go up and sometimes they never do at all.

#67 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 42
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 23 November 2012 - 13:42

jQuery is not used on the forums only on main, I guess you mean ajax (prototype). If we were to refresh the page it would talk just as long or longer

#68 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 23 November 2012 - 13:47

There is a difference between the main news page and the forums.

IPB is not fast and we can't do much about it. The main page is optimized and should be very fast (when IPB isn't slowing the whole site down, no social media and ads disabled)

The forums is most definitely the slowest part of the website, I run with NoScript (Neowin Whitelisted) and Ghostery (which is not whitelisted cause I want it to block social media links and other things), the main site works fine. But pretty much every day there is a point where I hit refresh on a Neowin Forum tab, change to other tabs to read things on other sites, then later switch back to the neowin forum tab. When it happens I easily have to wait 10-20 seconds for the forum tab to fully load.

#69 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 24 November 2012 - 04:34

What do you mean slow, does it take forever for the page to START to load, or the whole experience?


Twice tonight (my time) Neowin has either slowed to the speed of molasses or stopped working entirely for a bit. The other times, it loads normal. The slowed or stopped periods don't last very long, usually from 5 to 10 minutes. But they always seem to happen every night. Sometimes once, sometimes more than that.

#70 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    Looking for a job in Lisbon

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04

Posted 24 November 2012 - 09:14

Care to explain?

Dial-up. Enough said.

#71 ffMathy

ffMathy

    C# .NET guru

  • Joined: 21-January 11
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 24 November 2012 - 09:51

I proposed a solution to this here (http://www.neowin.ne...-load-problems/).