Jump to content



Photo

CPU is at 100%

help me processor 100% antimalware service

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 25 November 2012 - 19:32

Ok, so from a past couple of hours or so, the processor is really behaving weird. It gets to full 100%, when I am browsing in chrome, and stays at 100% until I open the task manager and it comes down to 50 - 60 %

Capture.PNG

a.PNG

Should I be worried?


Regards...


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 26 November 2012 - 01:30

So, it's running a Malware scan, while you are browsing ?

Turn off the scan, until you aren't busy.

Don't have the program run automatically.

I see you are also running a torrent downloader.

And it helps to add more RAM, if you don't have much installed.

#3 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 26 November 2012 - 01:30

Chrome is up to date right? have you tried disabling some plugins?

#4 OP Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:28

Okay so, that was my friend. And that's his laptop. He left it with me for the night so I could look into it.

I ran a full scan with Security Essentials and left it running. In the morning, the resources were not being utilized anymore by Antimalware Service Executable but by an .exe named 'igfxupdate'

Looked it up and there have been some problems with this one. Solution for this seemed to delete it in safe mode or improvise while Task Manager was running.

Did it and now its fine

#5 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:35

Remove Microsoft Security Essentials. It was a resource hog in my case as well. It will slow down your system.

I have switched to Avira - I highly recomend it. There is a free personal version available.

#6 OP Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:37

Remove Microsoft Security Essentials. It was a resource hog in my case as well. It will slow down your system.

I have switched to Avira - I highly recomend it. There is a free personal version available.


He's got Windows 8, which comes pre-installed with it

#7 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:52

He's got Windows 8, which comes pre-installed with it

But surely you must be able to uninstall it. Otherwise it won't be fair for other antivirus companies, and it would be stupid to be forced to have it running in the background, alongside another antivirus program.

Just because it's from "Microsoft" doesn't mean it's the best antivirus product in the world. My experience with it was bad - there was a noticeable system slowdown - but not with Avira.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!