Jump to content



Photo

What Is Your MAIN Backup? Cloud, DVD or HDD?


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

Poll: Backup Solutions

What Do You Use as Your Main Backup Device?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#31 bledd

bledd

    Neowinian

  • 32 posts
  • Joined: 07-November 12

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:08

Multiple copies on hard drives for my media files, I use robocopy to keep things sync'd up about once a week.

For personal files, Skydrive, it's so useful


#32 Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,670 posts
  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:16

Backup, what's that?

#33 Jacky L.

Jacky L.

  • 12,080 posts
  • Joined: 27-October 04
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:21

I backup to a 2TB external occasionally, then another copy to BD-R (using a burner I recently bought).

#34 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • 5,529 posts
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:32

DVD's!!! derp.

#35 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • 10,729 posts
  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:32

external HDD (Y)

Glassed Silver:mac

#36 Reverend Spam

Reverend Spam

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,949 posts
  • Joined: 16-April 05
  • Location: Providence, RI, US
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Droid Bionic

Posted 15 December 2012 - 14:43

I know it's naughty, but I only back up my data to one main HD... Though in all fairness, that hard drive changes every couple of years, so it's not like I'm trusting a 10 year old hard drive to keep my precious data safe.... Right now I'm using a 2TB connected to my desktop (which I set up basically as just an interface to transfer files back and forth between computers.... True NAS is a bit more expensive)

#37 _dandy_

_dandy_

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,867 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 04

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:04

My data fits on a 1.5TB drive, and my VMs fit on a 2TB drive.

I have a pair of each, which are used for weekly backups (using robocopy). Then at the end of each month, I bring the drives to the office and swap them for the pair I left there the month before.

#38 Arkos Reed

Arkos Reed

    The Slayer of Gods

  • 858 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: The one and only rivierra

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:12

Files on my workstation (Photos, documents, etc) are backed up daily to the Raid-5 array on my server, and whatever is on my server (add movies, music and VMs into the mix) is backed up weekly on my Qnap TS459 Pro2 NAS, which also has a Raid-5 array.

So yeah, it would take quite a lot for me to loose anything

#39 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,188 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:17

I guess it depends. For a lot of small files my main backup is on BOTH cloud and hard drive. For larger files they are on mostly hard drives. Both cloud and HDD backup automatically.

#40 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • 10,729 posts
  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:19

Files on my workstation (Photos, documents, etc) are backed up daily to the Raid-5 array on my server, and whatever is on my server (add movies, music and VMs into the mix) is backed up weekly on my Qnap TS459 Pro2 NAS, which also has a Raid-5 array.

So yeah, it would take quite a lot for me to loose anything


Not really, unless you use good filesystems.
What do you use?

Glassed Silver:mac

#41 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • 15,863 posts
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:19

external hdd

#42 Arkos Reed

Arkos Reed

    The Slayer of Gods

  • 858 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 01
  • Location: The one and only rivierra

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:25

Not really, unless you use good filesystems.
What do you use?

Glassed Silver:mac


NTFS Everywhere, however the underlying FS for the NAS iSCSI volume is ext4.
Hardware wise, I'm pretty failure-proof

Edit, did I mention I also snapshot my server and workstation system volumes? :D

#43 javagreen

javagreen

    Neowinian

  • 1,444 posts
  • Joined: 16-July 04

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:30

A combination of HDD + DVD.

I'd use the cloud fulltime, but my ****ty internet connection prevents me :/

#44 jackkk1

jackkk1

    Neowinian

  • 305 posts
  • Joined: 24-June 11
  • Location: Earth
  • OS: Windows 8 x64

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:42

Considering that SATA 3TB HDD prices nowadays are acceptable, i don't see any advantage storing your data on cloud where data security question still is controversial. Therefore, my vote for using external or internal SATA HDD for your backups.

#45 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,613 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 15 December 2012 - 15:44

SkyDrive and robocopy /mir as a scheduled task to a dedicated 1TB drive on Server 2012 (DFS Snapshot enabled).