Jump to content



Photo

CPU Usage


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 December 2012 - 02:19

Maybe I'm just paranoid. But, when I play Minecraft, I get pretty good FPS, but later on, I start getting freezes or very slow, just like a second or two, then gameplay returns to normal. When this happens, one of my CPU cores hits 100% for a few seconds. I have System Monitor on Ubuntu to see if my assumptions were correct. As so they were, that my CPU was hitting the top of its range.

Now, I know that most games these days use more GPU than CPU power. But this game runs off Java, which I think is more CPU intensive.

I have an i3 2100 and a Radeon HD6870. I think the CPU would be the bottleneck here, no?

So if a higher CPU would help, I would get like an i5 3570 or something. I also would get a board with that. Get a full ATX so I could fit my 5770 in there as well, not xfired.


#2 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 02 December 2012 - 07:25

Download ProcssorMonior
Let the processor run at 100% for some seconds
Tools>Process Activity Summary
See which task or program is causing it

#3 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 07:58

hahaha dude you don't need a better CPU, not for Minecraft. If it only lasts a split second or so, it's a minor thing, could be so many causes, just ignore it.

#4 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 December 2012 - 14:46

So I'm just paranoid, thanks a lot. :p

#5 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 02 December 2012 - 14:50

Java...

Oh you! :/

#6 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 December 2012 - 17:44

OpenJava any better? :rofl:

#7 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 07 December 2012 - 17:35

Sorry to jump this.

Would Java perform better if it had more CPU headroom? I saw Java was eating up my CPU.

#8 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 08 December 2012 - 19:10

Anyone? *rings bell* :&:

#9 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 08 December 2012 - 19:17

The limiting factor for Java is usually CPU. It doesn't matter so much which edition of Java it is, they all run relatively poorly. That said, a faster CPU would definitely help. Some Java applications that are really computationally intensive can be written to take advantage of multiple cores, but not all do. Its up to the developer. Java programs that need better performance are often rewritten, either in whole or in part, in C++. Last time I checked, Minecraft server could use multiple cores but not the client.

#10 Cøi

Cøi

    The Aviator

  • Joined: 17-April 11
  • OS: Windows 6.3

Posted 08 December 2012 - 19:22

Yes, the problem is that this CPU is still not powerful enough to smoothly run Minecraft (as said before, Java is more CPU dependant). Without buying a new CPU, you can still improve performance with this mod Optifine: http://www.minecraft...-and-much-more/

#11 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 08 December 2012 - 22:21

I am using Optifine. And I still get crappy FPS. Even when I turn everything down. it still underperforms. And Optifine allows you to run on multiple cores.

If I do get a new CPU, it will be after new years. Maybe even into February if I can pay off most of my PayPal BillMeLater account by then. (xmas presents) If I get a new CPU, I would almost like a new board. As the ASUS P8H67-M PRO is good, but if I ever want to overclock, I won't be able to it well with H67. Also would like to fit 2x GFX cards in there, currently can't because the bottom pci-e slot is overlapping front panel and usb connectors.

And I've been looking at motherboard/CPU bundles on Newegg.

This looks pretty good: http://www.newegg.co...t=Combo.1141015

#12 paxa

paxa

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-June 04
  • Location: so far away....nearly in the end of the world

Posted 09 December 2012 - 00:47

you don't need to change the cpu. the problem is the game itself, minecraft is done in java, so and how it implements certain aspects like garbage collection or some other things,that's why could see a spike in the processor usage.

#13 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 09 December 2012 - 00:54

I'd worry about CPU over-heating.

Is your thermal paste and heatsink fan good ?

I'd open the case and blow air in with a floor fan.

If this stops the 'freezes' then you have a cooling problem.

#14 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 09 December 2012 - 01:48

you don't need to change the cpu. the problem is the game itself, minecraft is done in java, so and how it implements certain aspects like garbage collection or some other things,that's why could see a spike in the processor usage.


So, changing it won't make any difference, yet I have friends who play it no problems and have more powerful ones than me? :huh:

I'd worry about CPU over-heating.

Is your thermal paste and heatsink fan good ?

I'd open the case and blow air in with a floor fan.

If this stops the 'freezes' then you have a cooling problem.


This is what I get, between normal, and after playing a few minutes of Minecraft

david@david-ubuntu:~$ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +30.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)
Core 0:		 +30.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)
Core 1:		 +29.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)
radeon-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:		+54.0°C
david@david-ubuntu:~$ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +37.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)
Core 0:		 +37.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)
Core 1:		 +35.0°C  (high = +82.0°C, crit = +102.0°C)


I'm OK in the cooling rafters.

Thermal paste: MX2
Heatsink: Xigmatec Black Knight

Heat is not a factor here. I'm sure of it. It is just Java eating my CPU percentage.

#15 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 09 December 2012 - 02:01

The i3 isn't a bad CPU, I'd suggest the problem is a badly coded game rather than your rig.